Holy smokes — what was I thinking!

Those of you that know me will understand that I don’t like to start something and not finish it. Take last night’s blog post as an example. I stayed up quite late because I wanted to get the pictures just right and eventually I was happy with the layout and content.

Those of you that know me really well will understand that I’m perhaps a bit OCD. Life just seems to function better if the kitchen is clean and the shoes are orderly at the back door. I regularly clean up my sewing space despite having enough room to leave it laying around. Somehow it just feels right to put stuff away. So when things get messy or cluttered I need to take action.

But sometimes you bite off more than you can chew with one evening. On my very long term list of things to do was to clean up the closet and the cupboard in the main floor bedroom. So once we had made a plaster mess hanging the picture rail cleaning it all up seems like the logical thing to do. So we decided that we should empty the remote declutter and re-organize.

We moved into the house in 2007 and I found things that we put in that closet back then. One thread of thought would be to toss them all because obviously we didn’t miss anything in these boxes. But alas I am married to someone who doesn’t throw things out easily.

I started first by hauling out all the frames so that I could take a look at what we had to work with. It would appear that collecting frames over the last seven years has given us quite a stash. And then I moved onto the games and then to the clothes and then to the books. So I’m sorted and organized and made neat piles.

This is my usual mode of operation when I’m overwhelmed. The random thoughts that don’t quite make a cohesive plan. So now I have an incredible mess in two rooms. My mother arrives on Wednesday afternoon and guess what room she stays in. So tomorrow night will see at least the biggest majority of the project completed. Or so I want to believe. As it stands I’ve left a mess which actually won’t wreck my world because I’ll be at sleep and then at work. See I can cope with a mess she says to herself.

IMG_7177.JPG

IMG_7181.JPG

3 thoughts on “Holy smokes — what was I thinking!

  1. Patti November 25, 2014 / 7:51 am

    I meant picture rail……

    Like

    • bernielynne November 25, 2014 / 12:23 pm

      Go back one post to the one called Picture Rail. What I really want to see is the pictures hanging!

      Like

  2. Patti November 25, 2014 / 7:50 am

    Oh those cleaning jobs! Hope it doesn’t keep you decluttering for too long! I’d love to see pics of your plate rail!

    Like

Leave a Reply

