Posted in Food, sewing

Burritos, Bernie’s Style

I never run out of inspiration when it comes to making burritos.  It seems the sky is the limit. In fact, I made 2 at breakfast time today. One for the plate and one for a baby!

I did make one for the plate but more on that for #whatsbeenonyourplate challenge in a minute.

The baby burritos has long been in my repertoire as a baby gift.  My pattern is dated 2009, and since that time, I’ve made so many of them that I am sure I have lost count. They are basically a curved edge turned quilt and are perfect for tucking in car seats and strollers.

This particular one is slated for a young Auzzie couple, new to Canada, and about to have their first born Canadian. Auzzie Nick, as he’s known on the soccer/football field, is a hoot, and his wife is quite lovely. I decided they needed a Canadian themed baby burrito and a couple of oven ready meals for when this little boy arrives. I even volunteered to look after their older two, but they have arranged for another Auzzie coworker and his wife to take them.

Burritos, both styles

The burrito on the plate is really an omelette but folded burrito style. I’ve taken to, a few days of the week, starting the day with eggs and veggies. Oh, and hot sauce! It’s like the quilting version as there are a lot of options for what to put inside it. Some of my usual veggies are mushrooms, spinach, basil, green onions, and chives (in season which they are now!!). I may add parmesan cheese or cottage cheese or even ricotta. Versatile, quick to make, and nutrious. What more could you ask for in a breakfast. 

So there is a whimsical Wednesday view of what’s been on my “plates”. All things quick and simple.

Oh, as an aside, Big A asked to sew on Sunday morning, and so she did 18 of the seams (the first 3 rows) of the quilt. One further aside is that the baby basket with the bear in it is the same one my mom used for myself and my siblings. 

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

19 thoughts on “Burritos, Bernie’s Style

  1. Love the history of that baby basket. And what a wonderful gift for a young family, especially one that’s far from home. They’ll cherish the baby burrito, but they will praise your name out loud as they pop those dinners into the oven!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It took me a while to unpack “Baby Burrito”! What a fabulous gift!
    I love your high protein burrito – an excellent idea which I will adopt in my quest for lower carb meal ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a whimsical look at both items! It is always a well received gift. Yes I either start my day with eggs and veggie or with high protein full fat yogurt, berries, flax and nuts. It lasts much longer than my old carb based breakfast did. Thanks for stopping in Ju-Lyn. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a rather a tongue in check version of what’s on your plate. The quilt version turned out kind of cute and fun didn’t it. Thanks for stopping in Ally. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a fun whimsical take for #WOYP Bernie and I’ve never heard of a baby burrito, I thought you were making a baby version of the edible burrito! How cute for the Aussie family to have you on their side, they’ll love the homemade gift from the heart. As to food burritos I too like eggs for breakfast in almost any form. 

    Like

    1. It’s basically just a shaped baby quilt; so quick and easy to make that as I said I have made so so many of them. I am always on the look out for ways to be helpful and caring and the quilt and some food seems like a great mix for this family about to have a baby with two little ones already running around. As to eggs there are a couple of forms I like way more and a couple I don’t like at all but you seem to enjoy them anyway. Thanks for stopping in Debbie. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the way you’ve combined burritos and quilting. The baby burrito, I’m sure will be the perfect give for the little Canadian/Aussie. I love the sound of an omelette buritto too, as I’m a big omelette fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought it was a cute take on what my morning had included Jennifer. I hope they enjoy the baby burrito and like you I enjoy an omelette and now that I am semi retired I eat them a lot more than I did when I worked full time. Good to have you stop in. Bernie

      Like

  5. Yay, burritos, both fabric and food. Nice you are getting some volunteer sewing help. Did you ever get any rain or snow? still dreary here, but no longer raining. My lawn is saturated right now. Have a great day Bernie. Allan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The request to sew warmed my heart. This is her second foray and she 100% remembered how to thread the machine without any help. We got 5 minutes of hail last evening and about 30 mins of light rain a bit ago. It’s socked in but no moisture is actually falling. So annoying. Thanks for stopping in. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I was about to ask, “So, when’s breakfast?” when I saw you were talking about quilts. Is the pattern available on-line? Love the little basket. Apparently, our old wicker laundry basket was originally my baby crib. It died years ago. I’m still kicking around, although every day I feel more like that old basket (lol).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will have to check to see if that pattern is available on line. It’s super easy at 36 6″ squares, round the corners and the middles. Sew right sides together and leave a space to turn. It only takes a couple of hours and people like them. As to still kicking around – well I guess that’s a good thing hey! That old basket is brittle but still good to look at, just like you! Bernie

      Like

Leave a comment