Posted in celebrations, rural life

And we wait

Each year, with bated breath, we wait

To see the crocuses yearly fate

Which weather condition settles

The destiny of the mauve petals

I kid you not. This is only 6 year’s worth of archived WP crocus photos. I finally stopped at 27, yes, 27, photos. I am sure I could have gone farther back and pulled even more, but you get the drift. I absolutely adore the crocus that adorn the native prairie that I am blessed enough to live on.

But it’s not a new love. I can remember, as a small child, going out into the pasture and picking my Mom a bunch of crocuses every spring. We would check every day to see if they had finally bloomed. Even decades later, my brother would go walk the pasture to find them and bring some in for Mom.

Fast forward to my city years. I don’t recall seeing them while living in Calgary, although I suspect they existed on Nose Hill. The prairie version doesn’t live on the coast, so the Vancouver years were a bust. The wonderful thing about Saskatoon is that, along the riverbank, there are many areas of natural prairie, and so once again, I was in 7th heaven.

Then fast forward a couple of decades and a move to the country. We looked for a piece of property that fit our criteria, and once aspect of that was native prairie. What a bonanza we hit! It was sparse in the first couple of years as the pasture was very overgrown after not being grazed for a few years. But once the cattle chomped on some grasses and exposed the ground, the crocuses came out in full force. Weather and moisture conditions definitely play a factor, although I think it is more of the latter than the former. You can see above that they will survive a snowfall and still keep blooming.

As to this year, still waiting. A few have popped their silver heads up, but despite the warm weather, they are still hanging back. Every day, we walk and wait. But soon, my heart will sing with each blossom, and I will lay on the ground and take so many photos. Big A and Little Man C will come over and be so excited to see them, Baby J won’t be as excited by them, but his Nan will take him out there for sure. The bees will buzz, and friends will come for walks to marvel at this sure sign of spring.

Until then, we wait…

April is poetry month, and so I challenged myself to do something other than a haiku. It’s short, and hopefully, you will all think it’s sweet!

Do you have a favourite flower that speaks to your heart?

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

24 thoughts on “And we wait

  1. These are all so beautiful Bernie. I get a bit like this with my magnolia tree each spring! Hope the weather is warming up and they’re make their way up and oiut of the ground.

    Like

    1. Oh, they are in full bloom and extremely prolific this year. It’s wonderful! Thanks for stopping in Deb – lots on your plate lately, so I appreciate your readership.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love waiting for snowdrops and daffodils raising their heads. But I do love crocuses too. I used to have them in a garden where I once lived, that I planted amongst many other flowers and shrubs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never had much luck with daffodils. Snowdrops, hm… will have to look that one up. I’m not the most plant knowledgeable person. As to the crocuses, these wild ones are 👌!Thanks for stopping by Liz.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They are?? I had no idea. Back now — the prairie crocuses we have here are not extremely poisonous. They will cause some stomach upset if ingested. Apparently, it’s the fall one that’s so lethal, and we don’t get them in the fall.
      Anyway, thanks for stopping in and for the compliment about my writing. Bernie

      Like

    1. I’m still waiting!! Yes, we would each take a bouquet in. They don’t last long as a cut flower, and technically, as a wild flower, we should not have picked them, but they grew back every year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love to see the crocuses when the pop their heads up. Unfortunately the only flower for a short time here. Your photos are beautiful

    Like

    1. Thanks for the compliment about the photos. I spend a lot of time out there lying down taking pictures! It is a short season, but in my meadow, it’s spectacular.

      Like

    1. I just followed my heart with Terri’s flower prompt and pulled photos. The poem wrote itself while I was out walking the dog and checking to see if any crocuses had actually popped out since the day before. It’s kind of you to use CAPS LOCK about the photo collage — I think you made my day! Take care. Bernie

      Like

  4. Firstly — love your ode to the beautiful, seemingly delicate but oh so strong Crocus. My fav as well — my heart always does a fluttering thing when I spy one — and that’s the second thing…

    Yes, they abound at Nose Hill — they also appear on the hillsides above the Weasal Head as well as at Tom Scott Park and along the hillside to the east of the Stampede Grounds. I’m sure they’re other places too but, right now, like there, they are but suggestions of their beauty to spring forth… soon as spring settles in! ❤

    Your photos are so amazing — and I love the white Crocus!

    Thanks for reminding me to come by — I’ve been immersed in the year long course I’m taking and while I thought after the first couple of weeks it might slow down… I still feel like I’m in catch-up mode! 🙂

    Like

    1. First off, thanks for coming by and for the lovely comment about my ode to the crocuses. You would adore our pasture if you love crocuses. And each year, I seem to find a new white one in a different spot. Last fall and the fall before, I found a single purple one blooming. I hope you plan a spring walk to one of those locations with Beau. It’s worth the drive to get that feeling they give us.

      Like

  5. I love this, Bernie! Your ode to the crocus is heartfelt and sentimental, like waiting expectantly for an old friend to show up every year. I probably have as many pics of sunflowers as you have crocuses (what IS the plural of crocus–croci?), LOL.

    We have similar expectations of the seasonal arrowleaf sunflower that pops up this time of year. They fill the forest floor with yellow by the end of April. As we traveled to Portland, OR, yesterday, they were already blooming and adorning the fields along Hwy 84 in the Columbia River Gorge. Hooray, everything happens a little earlier here compared to cold, dry Eastern WA. Enjoy the beauty of the crocus this spring! And have a beautiful week!

    Like

    1. What a beautiful comment Terri. I love your analogy that it is like waiting for an old and wonderful friend. And yes the plural of crocus is crocuses and I feel so blessed to see them in large quantities. I can imagine you have as many sunflowers as they pop up in a lot of your posts! We don’t really have many that grow wild so that’s cool that you do and that they are already blooming.
      Thanks for hosting. I never know ahead of time if I am going to participate but this one spoke to me as I await my friends’ arrival. Take care and have a good week also. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  6. A sure sign of spring Bernie. So sad we do not get them here, except in the mountain parks. I am just happy to see the grass uncovered. Soon the chives and rhubarb will start. Hoping for enough rain this year to keep it all going. Happy Monday Bernie. Allan

    Like

    1. No where around that has native prairie Allan? They are definitely hard to find, but even in Saskatoon, there are 2 or 3 spots that are usually ablaze with them. Ah yes what will the season bring? Have a good day Allan.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post and so many wonderful photos, Bernie. The spectacle put on by flowering bulbs and perennials each spring is one of Mother Nature’s best performances. She keeps them hidden under a blanket of snow-covered soil until the lengthening days and warming sun signal that it’s time for their grand entrance. Right on cue, they rise out of their beds to banish our winter blues and remind us that spring has arrived. Thanks for sharing, and have a good day 🙂 Aiva xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Gosh, your words are a lovely tribute to spring and the flowers. Beautifully penned. Different areas would be known for different flowers.. I’ve always wanted to see the alpine meadows ablaze but feel pretty content with the display outside my back door. Thanks for stopping in Aiva. Hope all is well with you and your wee ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love your tribute to the crocus and loved seeing your pictures. I have a few and every year I resolve to get more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gail. I resolve, every year, to take less pictures and fail! But it’s such a fleeting and gorgeous site! Thanks for stopping in. Bernie

      Like

Leave a comment