Graceful Aging 

There are times where I feel my age and times where I definitely don’t. It’s a true story that half the time I can’t even remember how old I am! It really is quite relative to your surroundings not so much the chronological data.
A few years ago my lovely twisted soul sisters gave me an awesome 50th birthday present. I am happy to say that I am still enjoying it and occasionally check it regularly to make sure that I am remembering the ABC’s of Aging Gracefully so below is my update on how I’m doing this year.

IMG_1170

AVOID COLLAGEN how does one do this?

BLOOM LATE yes maturing into many things

CELEBRATE comes with focusing on the positives

DANCE AT WEDDINGS  you bet we do! All night long

EAT MORE CHOCOLATE  try for good quality and only the right quantity

FALL IN LOVE AGAIN every day – love the man

GO GREY well I am excelling at this one!!

HOLD HANDS HUGS go along with holding hands and we do that daily

INSPIRE possibly I am at work and maybe here and there in life

JETTISON GRUDGES there is one I should let go of

KISS LIKE YOU MEAN IT always

LAUGH my favourite laugh is Ron laughing at something funny; always makes me laugh

MEND FENCES this worked I’m happy to say

NUTURE FRIENDSHIPS regularly and in a wide circle

OPEN DOORS  maybe figuratively here & there

PERSPIRE WITH APLOMB failing miserably at this one even when I run or play soccer

QUIT WHINING reminded myself of this one again and will remember it daily at work

REKINDLE ROMANCE trying to get quality time together tough but try to do little things

SPOIL BABIES when I can find one I sure do!!

TEACH SOMEONE TO READ At this point not yet but am teaching lots at work

UPSET CONVENTION yes probably quite regularly~~~

VOLUNTEER always have and always will

WEAR RED one of my favourite colours

EXPECT JOY from the simple things like dog love, sun shine and emails from friends

YIELD GRACEFULLY to the pains and aches of being 55 and overdoing it!

ZING yes with my closest and dearest friends

  
It turns out that this Renee Stewart started the whole ABC idea with one about life and then one about loving. She then added marriage and now aging so I suspect she is about my age! But hey age is just a number — unless your baby son turned 29 today and then you are allowed to feel old!

Bernie 

4 thoughts on “Graceful Aging 

  1. shannon Gasparatto March 2, 2016 / 3:22 pm

    Loved this. I try to be positive. . Yes, I do.

    Like

    • bernielynne March 2, 2016 / 5:42 pm

      Sometimes life hands us a lot of challenges, as you well know, and it makes us work to remember all that we do have to be grateful for. Glad you enjoyed the post.

      Like

  2. Brenda Bacon March 2, 2016 / 10:19 am

    I read it because I was looking for inspiration – and found some. Thanks. Brenda

    Like

    • bernielynne March 2, 2016 / 12:43 pm

      Thanks. Those short few words can be a good focal reminder of the positives in our lives.

      Like

Leave a Reply

