Picture this

I felt like a kid in the candy store as I finally opened the box.

I had purchased these wonderful picture rail hangers about eighteen months ago and today we were going to be able to hang them.

IMG_7158-0

It’s a complex project hanging anything on a plaster wall. Which is why many decades ago they invented picture rail. The problem nowadays is finding picture rail. Loads of old salvage houses don’t have a lot left and what is available has been painted of course. It requires a significant outlay of time to return it to its former glory. It doesn’t require a lot of money as sand paper and small amounts of paint stripper are fairly cheap.

IMG_7159

The actual hanging of it also requires time and patience as studs aren’t always easy to find and plaster must be drilled. Trying to nail through old fir wood and then plaster walls is a recipe for swear words! Plus every corner needs to be IMG_7162mitered and the whole thing must stay level.Now the fun begins as I have been collecting frames for travel pictures for a few years. So we get to make design decisions with colour options. But first I need to clean up the plaster dust and organize the room plus the closet. Back to the “Rome wasn’t built in a day concept”!

When we were in the thick of the restoration project I always attempted to upload photos and do the house blog on Sunday nights. That blog is “Inactive” right now as I can’t get it to accept pictures but I so wanted to share this success story that I used this blog as a record of our day. It seems a lot easier these days with the blog and the camera in my phone but it can still have issues!

My usual custom with that blog was to close with an artistic photo to prove that we did more than just work on the house. It’s also part of focusing on the positives and enjoying the present. I actually had several options to chose as our Sunday afternoon long walk was full of snow and sky colours and wonderful vistas. I decided to include two as one of them is so full of sunshine and just feels so rich and warm that I wanted to share it.

IMG_7153.JPG

IMG_7147

 

Bernie

Leave a Reply

