Posted in health, painting, Self Care

Paint “Therapy”

Surprisingly enoough there may have been rhyme to the reason. Perhaps I’m mixing metaphors again but you will eventually see what I mean.

It was a typical

November day. I attended our art class in the afternoon and put my head down to concentrate but I know that there was not one second of sunlight in my world today.

We painted pansies. Now pansies, as any gardener can tell you, come in a huge variety of colours. Someone commented on the colour of mine and how they were like sunshine. Talk turned to whether art could be used as a tool against Seasonal Affective Disorder. Perhaps, as I said, there was a rhyme and a reason to what I had done.

So here is an Ottawa newspaper article from today called “can you paint away the winter blues?” Well I tried, that’s for sure.

I reversed mine from the instructors as I wanted more yellow and less maroon. I have some more work to do on shadowing the flowers but got a good start on it and believe you can tell they are pansies!

Oh gosh she talked about the face and it wasn’t until just this moment that I saw what she was saying. Depth perception and orientation can be hard to see up close and personal!

Here is my friend M’s painting. She wasn’t happy with her results and yet viewed here it looks good to me. I think we are exchanging them in a card format so I will be able to enjoy her version for years to come!

Art creation was certainly a nice distraction from the dull cloudy day and a lot more fun than Vitamin D and a blue light!

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

4 thoughts on “Paint “Therapy”

Leave a comment