Posted in Random ramblings, Travel

Plain Eerie

It was one of those dodo dodo feelings of watching over your shoulder. Let me set the scene and then you will know exactly

why I had that feeling.

I was doing a bit of surfing and reading the other day, all about hiking in Scotland. I was on my phone and hitting random blogs and top 10 lists. The usual research.

Later on I opened Instagram and voila an advertisement. One from a company that I had hit on inadvertently when I was doing research. I try for tourist sites and blogs rather than companies but once there I read their route and looked up a few locations. I’ve since also seen that company on the Facebook.

This whole algorithm thing is eerie. You see what “they” want you to see and then they feed your info to companies so they can send you advertisements. Plus you don’t see other things and you have no control at all it seems. It’s disconcerting really. What’s out there, where it goes and who sees it.

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

Leave a comment