Posted in Projects, sewing

The geese fly free – Six on Saturday

Definitive answer- the geese fly free. That’s my six on Saturday today.

Six word Saturday as if I could? Not likely so I might as well give the back story.

In 2017, during Canada’s sesquicentennial, I bought a kit for a wall hanging. And then I let it mature. Aka did nothing with it!

I pulled it out last year, read the instructions, and put it back in the cupboard. This year, I reached for it again. But this time, I “called a friend.” She’s an accomplished quilter and has done a lot of applique.

After much trial and error, we persisted. According to her, and she always follows patterns, the instructions are as crappy as I thought. Once the fusing, cutting, and second layer of fusing was finally complete (by which point I time I swore, I was never doing another raw edge applique) then it was time to decide on what to quilt.

I did the red, and that it enough for many reasons. So the geese fly free of extra stitching. This ends up on the wall rather than collecting dust in a cupboard. All in all, it’s a win, which I would not have had without G’s help.

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

13 thoughts on “The geese fly free – Six on Saturday

Leave a comment