Posted in celebrations, Projects, Random ramblings, rural life

Grey is still Gray on #Sundaystills

It seems I love a blogging challenge, enough to jump back on the band wagon. So here we are at a grey/gray colour/color theme for this week’s #Sundaystills hosted by Terri here at https://secondwindleisure.com/.

My second sentence leads into a rather rhetorical question. The regional, area and country wide idiosyncrasies that arise in our very strange language of English. Why did the U.S.A drop the “u” in all those words that the “rest” of us kept from our colonial background? Which, of course, brings me to things like bunny hugs and hoodies. Or perhaps y’all and eh and hey and whatever other words we all throw around without even realizing it. Purely rhetorical but hey if you want to wade into a monologue or an explanation of interesting words go for it. Knock your socks off.

Now to get back to the challenge I don’t have any grey socks but I had great grey hair. Alas it’s white now so I think I will include a picture of the beautiful colour that I sported for a good two decades. I think you can see from the photo why I am white haired now! This picture was taken in the spring of 2014 when my mom and I did a family tour of our Ontario relatives. It was a special trip and although that photo makes it look like a grey day we actually had great weather.

Staring below, in no particular order, are random photos that “read” grey to me along with a poem that just seemed to enter into being after I saw the photos I had picked.

A cherished smile

Shadows of loves,

Time travels

Memories of old,

Blue skies of home

Patina of wood

Gifts from the heart

Colours of grey

BLC May 21, ’21

So there you have my take on grey and while it might not be my favourite (there’s that u again!) colour I like the direction this challenge took me. A bit random but that’s sort of my mind set these days so it seemed to work.

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

24 thoughts on “Grey is still Gray on #Sundaystills

  1. Your grey hair would be fantastic in any color. (I just gave myself away) I could use hair like that in windy Prescott. I love the picture of you and your mom. Your poem describes the pictures beautifully without really describing them but tying them to emotions, which I’ve learned is the essence of poetry. An excellent response to a grey challenge. 🙂

    Like

    1. Ah thanks Marsha for the glowing response. This is the kind of connection I am so pleased has happened from this blogging challenge. The poem literally just came to me as I looked at the photos. I didn’t edit it and perhaps that helped because sometimes looking for perfection stalls the creative process. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your grey/gray colour/color made me smile, Bernie. Initially I waffled on how I should spell words on my blog and I decided to go with Canadian. I think U.K. spells similar to us and I have U.K. friends. Your hair is gorgeous, Bernie, whatever the colour! A beautiful poem. A great deal of your soul shared here. You reminded me of a short, funny memory: my career in the dental field meant I would gift toothbrushes to patients. We had grey toothbrushes come in and no one would pick these colours. I began to call the same toothbrushes “silver” and everyone picked “silver” as their first choice. 🙂

    Like

    1. Erica, your comment made me chuckle. Yes silver hair is very vogue while grey hair is just old looking! I now miss the silver as white is just white! Fortunately mine stays quite a vibrant white and isn’t washed out but alas it’s white!
      Yes our spelling harkens back to colonial days so same as UK but man our slang words are quite different than theirs! Thanks for stopping in.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We have some English, really nice friends. They somehow throw around slang, naughty words in a conversation with ease. I had to get used to it. ☺️

        Like

  3. I don’t feel gray or grey looking at your photos. I admire you for jumping into doing blogging challenges. They stretch you little gray brain cells. 😁

    Like

    1. Ah thanks Donna. I really enjoy the theme and working my way through how to make it interesting while recycling old photos! Well the grey hair colour was ok, less fond of the white as most of my curl is now gone sadly enough.

      Like

    1. Ah Scotland – a treasure trove of grey stone buildings. As I said above I was surprised to find so many great grey ones. Thanks for stopping by, reading and commenting. Take care. Bernie

      Like

  4. I love your take on grey on gray!

    Or is that gray on grey? Colour or color?

    And I really like how your poem is such a beautiful reflection of your photos — and wow — you and your mom look like twin sisters!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gosh I am taken back that we look like sisters — does she look young or do I look old?? There is a 33 year split in ages. The poem just kind of flowed in — must have been channeling YOU! It just came to me and I wrote it down. No edits and I hit publish! Crazy hey. Thanks for stopping in. Bernie

      Like

  5. Oooh, I can’t wait for my hair to be totally white! I dislike the high contrast salt and pepper stage I am going through…my still-pigmented hair looks so flat and drab compared to the white…hence the experimentation with adding wild colours to my hair. My hair does not look beautiful like your hair did, when it was grey.
    Gorgeous shots on the grey/gray theme!

    Deb

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s funny how many people told me I had nice grey hair – I am way less fond of it in white. Or maybe it’s because I’ve lost my curl and it’s just kind of boring wavy. I can’t really find a new hairstyle that seems to work and it’s boring. But at least it helped me pull together a good blog post! I did find some great shots in my media files – I was surprised. Happy May long. Take care and thanks again for stopping in. Bernie

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I enjoy hearing the different regional dialects and jargon, BernieLynne. Whenever we visit Texas, within hours, I’ve slipped into y’all mode. An easy accent to adopt. I rather like grey as opposed to gray, lol. Love your hair! I’m daring my red hair to go white, it just looks like highlights now. Your grey gallery is fabulous and the poem is perfect! Have a great week!

    Like

    1. My hair had reddish highlights that faded out to white and then the brown went white. It’s not something any of us can truly control – or at least I chose early on not to live a life of chemicals on my head!
      The differences in English are amazing and I only touched on the North American ones. The British Isles, NZ and AUZ all over some interesting takes on words.
      Thanks for the positive comment about my photos and the poem. Take care and thanks again for hosting. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Bernie – it’s been a while since I visited and your study of gray (also not my favourite colour 🙂) was worth the stop.

    From the photo of you and your Mom (no question of the relationship! Your mom cloned herself beautifully!!) to the long view of the house across the field of snow, to what I call ‘fence art’ of the flowers on the old barn wood, I find myself drawn into your photos. Who knew gray could be so captivating!

    Happy Victoria Day Weekend. Hope you and your family are all doing well.

    Like

    1. Joanne, Thanks for stopping in to read and comment. Ah the “fence art” was a gift for a special friend who needed a reminder of love and friendship. 7 flowers for 7 friends; each unique. I was surprised to find so much grey in the photos but I drew out some of my favourite ones actually. Our family is doing ok — a cold and snowy May long so we might as well just be at home! Hope all is well with you. Take care. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment