Posted in family, health, pandemic, Self Care

Use the china

Use the old good china. Put pizza on it if you want. Gaze out the window and enjoy the colours. Cuddle with whomever is in your bubble. Decorate the door even if no one else sees it. Listen to the leaves rattle in the trees. Smell the change that rain brings to the air and take a deep breath.

Back door fall display

I’ve written about this before. Life in a trauma OR definitely had an impact in my life but so did cancer and MVA’s to name a few. We aren’t guaranteed a certain number of days nor what their quality will be.

So I used the china. I stopped and watched a butterfly. I threw the ball for crazy dogs. I cuddled my soul mate and recognized how wonderful that felt. That’s my take on today.

Pretty sure it’s a moth but together it makes a pretty picture

Is there a specific that reminds you of how precious life is? Or one special thing that helps you practise mindfulness?

Bernie

Ps I know that there are mundane tasks and difficult times that make being mindful a challenge. The test is, I believe, how you center yourself as you go about these times.

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

15 thoughts on “Use the china

  1. We use the good China for everyday— sandwiches, cole slaw, and yes, pizza. Such a good reminder. And your photo is gorgeous…
    The planets have aligned today—Wordpress is allowing me to comment on your post…🤪

    Like

    1. Ah WP – it has its wrinkles that’s for sure. Glad the stars aligned. Nice to know you are there and reading. Yes living life with the good china and practising mindfulness is so important. The turmoil in the world is so intense right now we must find our peace and space where we can.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I finally found my way to your blog! It took a comment by Donna with a link on Janis’ post to make it happen. In the past, all I kept getting was a ‘server not found’ error. Today the planets aligned 🙂

    I’m definitely a use-what-I’ve-got kind of person. My china comes out whenever the whim hits me, if even just to put olives or pickles in teacup. There is no point in me ‘saving’ it for a special occasion. I’m starting to think that any meal I’ve prepared with enthusiasm deserves the china 🙂

    Life IS precious and I for one don’t want to lose sight of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your last sentence is spot on whether it be china, a windy walk or a sun drenched late afternoon beer on the back steps.
      Thanks for hitting the planet alignment day and coming on over to read, engage and follow along.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is good to read an assortment of views from bloggers who reside on the other side of the world. Especially now that travel is out of the question.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Life is short and we can repair for it to be perfect can we Janis? It’s about appreciating even the tough times and finding that little something that helps center us. Thanks for dropping in and commenting. It’s always nice to engage with new readers.

      Like

    1. Deb. Thanks for the comment and the kudos but I feel like you’ve figured this out already. Life can have some rocky patches but it’s still important to find the positives. When you write this it comes across as hooky but when you try to live that way it really opens up to mindfulness.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh Donna — quoted everywhere? That is high praise. I just strongly feel it and have for years that we have to really focus on where we are and not wait for it all to be perfect. I actually did a post called Scruffy Hospitality that talks about that. Oh how I’ve missed our casual friends and family gatherings out here this summer but I’ve focused on enjoyed the quiet. Thanks for engaging here.

      Like

Leave a comment