Posted in grandchildren, rural life

Five Minutes Peace

There is a very cute child’s book about how all Momma wants is 5 minutes peace but can’t seem to get it. I totally had that feeling this past week with a busy four year old on super drive.

This was Little Man C’s week at Timbernook camp. He’s a constant ball of motion and a chatterbox, but this is his first time being left anywhere without someone from his extended family accompanying him. The effects of farm life during Covid means he’s had a fairly sheltered start on socializing.

The first morning was a tough sell. I’ve never seen him entirely speechless and glued to my leg. He wouldn’t even look up. I deposited his hand into Miss Shelley’s and walked away, looking backward many times. I did not cry, but I might have sent a text to see how he was doing. The second morning, he chose to go with Grampa on their bikes. It was not much different. The third morning, he actually spoke to his “leader” about the train and elevator in my hometown. The fourth and fifth mornings continued his stand back and observe  behavior. Once into the woods, apparently, he opened up and interacted quite well.

It’s hard to see, but he’s the little one standing 2 feet behind the circle with his arms up.

When not at camp he keeps us entertained for certain. He’s not all that trustworthy, though, as the episode with the small pruning sheers proved (he cut the ropes holding the tree stable in high winds). He ‘fessed up right away, as he usually does! He is very adept at keeping himself entertained, although as the above incident shows, one usually needs to know where he is. Inside, he played with the Lego and Playmobil. He then cleaned up the latter so he could have the barn back. I had tucked it away, but he asked so nicely for it back. At the end of the week, he tucked it away nicely and lined up all the equipment. He’s not known for his clean-up skills, so I was pretty pleased how well he did.

He’s a major berry monster, so quite often, when outside, he is out picking berries! I think he picks his own weight in fruit. He was a big help in harvesting the remaining sour cherries and all of the apples. Of course, then he wanted apple fritters, apparently his favourite treat. So, on family day at camp, they returned home to fresh apple fritters.

He also helped me bake zucchini muffins and make cookies on the cool day. He informed me that the hand mixer was just like daddy’s except not red. And daddy’s was really old because it had been Grampa Gary’s.  Neither fact was true as it was a shower present for our daughter who uses it way more than our SIL (who does use it when he makes the kids waffles).

This led me to remember what my smart cousin has done for years. She has a file folder for each child, grandchild and now my grandchildren.  They are filled with cute things they have said and art work. So I started recording a few words his cute ones for this post.

  • This is very old, like 900 years
  • I think they blew to Mexico
  • It’s called evaporation. Yes, it is Colton. Where did you learn that word? Ada Twist scientist and begins to sing the opening line
  • I have a very very very very very messy poop
  • I love craisins, they are nummier than a bath tub
  • (Upon squishing a cricket) it’s filling came out
  • The fog has lifted in Mexico.  (Next breath) Mexico is in Alberta, you know.

We’ve packed a few things into the “free time” like an afternoon at the pool when it was hot. We took dog walks and cow cruises where we stop way more than we walk. He is still fascinated with them. We got the mail, washed the SUV and did the playground in town.

Another wonderful opportunity was to spend some quality time with his little cousin. With Annabelle, we had gone to the lake for the afternoon.  With Colton, we went to our son’s house. He and his dad tiled the bathroom shower while we hung out with Jayden. It was so interesting to watch the two of them. Jayden smiling and laughing at him and Colton being gentle and quiet.

It was a busy week, and the five minutes peace came after bedtime. But I would’ve have changed a thing.

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

14 thoughts on “Five Minutes Peace

  1. I love this post Bernie. This little guy sounds much like how my youngest son was at that age. Chatterbox, into everything, an explanation for anything and everything. So much fun but also tiring. Great idea keeping notes on what the kids say. I do the same with Hannah and Alice. I treasure the silly things they say.

    Like

  2. Sounds like a normal boy. So glad he started to open up at camp and be more sociable. As one who was a shy boy, we all just need a push out of our comfort zone. I love his sayings. We did the same for our 2 boys, writing down what they said. Some of the sayings made it into my father of the groom speeches. 😀Have a great day Bernie. Allan

    Like

  3. What fabulous times!

    My five year old grandson made his mom record a video of him asking me to come back to VAncouver soon so I can see his lego and make chocolate chip pancakes with him. Be still my heart! 🙂 I must say though… I envy you living so close to yours! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so blessed Louise that I have easy access. 22 km to these two and 17 to the baby. But look at your guy using technology to connect with his gramma.

      Like

Leave a comment