Cockles of my Heart 

On either end of the spectrum this warms the cockles of my heart. Before you ask the cockles of the heart are its ventricles, in Latin,  “cochleae cordis”, from “cochlea” (snail), alluding to their shape. The saying means to warm and gratify one’s deepest feelings.

This is exactly what sending and receiving a hand written card does. It means that someone carried, a lot. Enough to take the time to get a card, address it and mail or deliver it. But what’s inside is the key ingredient. It is important to put pen to paper and articulate pertinent thoughts for sharing. Sympathy cards come to mind but also special events, birthdays or retirements. A verbal, email or text thank you is appreciated but doesn’t warm your heart quite the same as real mail.

Today’s task was to write a thank you note to a teacher, friend or loved one. I chose three nursing colleagues whom I admire for many different reasons.

People often wonder what to say. My response to that; speak from your heart. It will touch others and in return make you feel good. Try it.

Now excuse me while I go write in a few Christmas cards. I’m perhaps not going to get them mailed on time but I’m going to try!


Bernie 

3 thoughts on “Cockles of my Heart 

  1. MamboJam December 19, 2016 / 2:24 pm

    I partake in personalizing cards and send them out. It’s warm and thoughtful. I think it’s very important we connect with each other and less on the superficial front.

    Like

    • bernielynne December 19, 2016 / 7:24 pm

      Like the book you gave me. Funny you should read this — I needed your address for a card!!

      Like

  2. Alma D December 15, 2016 / 11:10 pm

    I’m with you on this one. My heart almost skips a beat when I get a hand written card or letter in the mail.

    Like

Leave a Reply

