Posted in 1918 Eatons' House, Food, garden, rural life

Many sixes on Saturday

It was shortly after 9 when the work for the day was done. Yes, I know it’s a weekend and that I am semi retired. But the job is weather sensitive and so I must work when I can.

Which strangely enough brings me to a new challenge called #SixonSaturday.  I think it was designed originally as a garden share, and that’s the starting direction. Then I opted in for the #weekendcoffeeshare and added 3 more photos so it will fit Terri’s theme this week for blue. So, if I’m only going to blog once this week, I am going all in.

Six on Saturday in the positive garden column.

  • Lilies are actually blooming
  • The delphinium managed one flower
  • Lupin has a single bloom
  • Planter begonias are alive
  • The sedem thing bloomed yellow
  • The geranium and dahlias in the planters are amazing
  • BONUS item – my neighbour kindly delivered 6 hollyhocks that were growing in her walkway. She knows I’ve been struggling to grow them from seed or from purchased plant.

Of course, for every positive in gardening, there are at least that many negatives

  • The beets don’t seem to be growing in the weed patch shown below
  • Something is eating the turnip tops
  • The potatoes went moldy in the ground and I can’t find any more
  • The gophers are digging in the garden
  • The carrots are so so spotty that weeding them is not fun
  • The straw mulch is very windblown

But there is still produce. If you joined me for a weekend coffee share, you’d find me drinking raspberry lemonade. With a hint of fresh basil mixed in. So good! It’s much better than coffee, IMO. But you’d have to come late at night when the work is done!

As to edible sharing, oh heck, I could do a what’s in your pail (not on a plate) share. It’s all about the fruit right now for me. Raspberries are ripening fast, sour cherries also. But the cream of the crop sadly this year is not to be found on our native prairie. Sadly, there is hardly a saskatoon berry to be had.  BUT I found a new to me, UPick, and did I pick!I also ate a lot. Huge big lush berries that filled 3 pails in no time. In list form, as it seems sort of a theme tonight, the 6 favourite ways to eat them.

  • Greek yogurt, berries and homemade granola
  • Saskatoon berry pie
  • Saskatoon dumplings
  • Saskatoon and rhubarb compote
  • Saskatoon slice (kind of like a matrimonial cake but instead of dates put in saskatoons)
  • Saskatoon syrup on pancakes, waffles and ice cream
  • BONUS item – handful of frozen berries straight into the mouth!

So that’s what’s been in the pail/bowl but not on a plate even though I am going to link to #whatsonyourplateblogchallenge.

Terri’s theme this week is blue, and I did indeed capture blue this week. I actually stopped because it’s canola time. The crops are pretty patchy this year, but from a distance, the colour is still there.

We’ve had a small amount of smoke haze some evenings, but it usually blows off during the night. I guess that’s the benefit of living in a windy spot on earth. Makes sleeping with no windows in cool some nights.

My time and weather sensitive project, for the record, is proceeding. Ah, fits the theme again. As of tonight at 9 p.m. I finished window #6. Daunted when I do the math, but I am trying not to look to far ahead and just work on doing one window per day. So early morning first coat, late evening second coat and installation the following morning.

So the weekend runs into the weekday as I push hard to do all 31 😳 windows. Good thing I love this place and place it on the gratitude list. Indeed, the final six features another spot that kind of fits the plant theme of Six on Saturday.

After the work day ended and before the paint brushes were cleaned, the dogs and I headed to the native prairie (grasslands) for our stroll before we lost the light. It was super easy to find six native flowers to feature here.

I walk the medium length path 90% of the time and yet never grow bored with it. There is always something new to look at. Tonight, I spotted the hawk that appears to be nesting nearby. I listened to the farmer north of us thump out some bales. The breeze was cool, and the sun was red.

And that folks is a wrap for lots of sixes on Saturday.

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

30 thoughts on “Many sixes on Saturday

  1. Doubt if saskatoon would grow here -looks superb, but raspberries – Can’t keep up, eating, jam, the freezer.. Luckily, blackbirds are keen to help, and cleaned up the last redcurrants… For which I had plans, sure they were enjoyed. .

    One plea – Canola. Not its name here, unfortunately. Convert the UK from using that word … No sales team would allow it…

    Like

    1. It’s like the June berry. The Indigenous used them with bison meat and made a dried food that kept for winter. They are sort of like a blueberry only better!
      This week our granddaughter is here to go to day camp across the road. It’s one of my favourite weeks of the year!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ali, the framing is from Canva. If I am doing lots of photos, I usually put some inside a single Canva photo collage as it uses less data. From the inside, I am unsure what the leave a reply looks like… I hope it’s a good image. Thanks for stopping by to read and engage here. It’s always nice to meet bloggers.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Donna at Retirement Reflections upgraded to premium while she was away for a month. I wish I had as well because so many of the designs I wanted to use were only available thru it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That sucks! I did know mailboxes could be full but didn’t realize that then you were required to pay for it. I lost tons and tons of filed emails and life went on… Bernie

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I think I needed a Scotch after that! It was a long day, and today is just a “rinse and repeat” day of yesterday, but I added in laundry and picking raspberries and rhubarb to the list. But I appreciate the ability to be able to do all this even if I ache at the end of the day. I know not to take this for granted, as you well understand. Take care. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bernie, Thank you for your weekend coffee share. I love the header photo and the native flowers in your post. Well done meeting a few challenges in one post, too. Have a great week ahead!

    Like

    1. gosh Natalie – my header changes so now I wonder which photo it was. The native flowers are my happy place. I love where I live and walk. I also love blogging and meeting many challenges is fun! Thanks for stopping in to read and engage. Bernie

      Like

  3. I always encourage double/triple dipping for photo challenges, Bernie! Nicely done! I think I’ve seen the six on Saturday too, but only on twitter. Your big blue skies look gorgeous. Sorry to read about some of your crops, but your tea sounds delish. Hubby and I have been watching the Netflix series Heartland since April and we LOVE it. I heard about Saskatoon berries from the show and totally thought of you 🙂

    Like

    1. I actually have fun when I weave together several challenges and themes. It’s good to “find the connection” for all these and pull it together.
      Ah Heartland — my daughter read the original books and we have watched the show since inception. It is filmed where my mother in law grew up and where my brother in law and all his family still live there so it’s always on the stopping circuit when we hit Alberta. If I ever heard them mention saskatoons on the show it would not have triggered a thought except how good they are. It’s cool that you connected it with me. Thanks again for hosting and for stopping in to read when you have so many to keep up with! Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really enjoy reading others’ posts, Bernie! I read every post that links and beyond. We would love to travel to Alberta–heck anywhere in Canada since we have only have a 2-hour drive to the border from here. We’re a little obsessed with the show and I wonder if the Yellowstone series phenomenon got some of its inspiration from Heartland?

        Like

  4. Your garden looks beautiful. Something was eating the tops of my turnip last year so this year I’ve put them under a floating row cover, which has worked well. My kale on the other hand is being decimated by cabbage worms and I’ve had to replant all of my cucumber plants as we have some very aggressive bunnies. Today I plan on building some sort of barrier around some of my veggies with chicken wire.

    Like

    1. Ugh – gardening is supposed to be good for our souls but then the weather or the critters make it hard. I would be hard pressed to say that my garden looks beautiful – the weed level is such that every row seems to be “crisis” weeding except the potatoes which I did when I was looking for the sadly missing potatoe plants. I hope you get those pesky rabbits to go away! Are cabbage worms those green slimy worms? I cover my cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower to protect them from those ugly things. Bernie

      Like

      1. I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s impossible to have a garden that’s free from weeds. It’s good to stay on top of them, but it’s a losing battle. I just replanted my kale in a different spot and have put a floating row cover on them. And yup, the cabbage worms are those green worms. I initially thought I could save my kale by picking them off and squishing them. But they just kept multiplying.

        Like

Leave a comment