Posted in Projects

Land of the midnight sun – day 2

I called today, “the lupine loop.” It was definitely my highlight for today.

We missed the lupine season in Prince Edward Island. But we hit it in The Yukon. Where I did not even know that lupine grow! They even grow on the side of the road in gravel. What’s up with that? I treat them well and they don’t trow at my house.

Lupine!

After a leisurely breakfast, we set out for a circular hike from Whitehorse to Miles Canyon and back. According to the trail map I looked at, it showed the route as 7.2 kms.

And so off we went, armed with lunch & drinks.  Even at the end of the 12.2 kms I wouldn’t change it. The scenery was spectacular.  The weather incredibly perfect. There weren’t even any bugs nor wind!

The terrain was quite varied. Some parts of the trail makers were subpar, but The Engineer was in the lead, and we never verred off course. There were definitely some sketchy parts of trail conditions as well, but we made it back in one piece.

Miles Canyon was once fraught with danger for the would-be gold miners as they tried to make their way downstream to Dawson through the rapids. There is now a damn at Whitehorse, and it created Schwatka Lake and filled up the canyon. The colour of the water is so intense. This photo had no edits or filters and is quite true to what we saw with our own eyes. 

All that hiking built up a thirst, which meant we got a chance to check out the other local brewery. That and the lemgth of the hike meant we ran out of time to see MacBride Museum.

But, it seems daylight is on a serious extender here, so we had loads of time to explore the Pioneer Cemetery before doing a grocery run. Then we had time to shower and relax before we even thought about supper. Which was good as the rain storm hit around 7, which meant BBQ at 8 was perfect.

And now I’ve just walked out to view the sun as it slowly fades out. I found more lupines in the lane and captured both important items.

So there you have it… more picture spam from The Yukon. It’s been easy to post as who goes to bed when it’s still light out!! But I am already falling behind in comments, but trust me, I love to hear from you.

Bernie

Author:

I have had a love of the written word for my entire life. It's no surprise that eventually I found a platform where I could write. It's random; sometimes funny, occasionally sad, maybe even at times from anger and I lean towards creative photography and hands on crafts. I have a few blogs that high light these interests.

24 thoughts on “Land of the midnight sun – day 2

  1. Alpine Lupine are one of my favorite wildflowers, Bernie! We have quite a few wild bushes on our property. I’m especially sentimental about these because each summer we’d visit Tuolumne Meadows in the high country of Yosemite NP, and they grew everywhere. A wonderful childhood/teenage memory. When we saw our property for the first time in May 2020, lupines were growing right next to the arrowleaf sunflowers. Meant to be.

    Your images of the area are stunning–I love that glacier blue-green water. You also had me at the beer and BBQ. Did you drive to YT from your area or did you fly part of the way?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love lupines but have no history with them as they aren’t native to the prairies that I know of. I fell in love with them in Prince Edward Island. What a great memory you have of them.
      No, we flew to Whitehorse – it’s a 28-hour drive from where we live, and while it would be somewhat interesting, it means you have a lot more travel time and less time to see things.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. On our trip to Yukon several years ago, I, too was taken with the lupine growing in the ditches. I found some packages of seed and attempted to grow them at home. I wasn’t successful…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I planted several plants a few years ago, and they might all someday bloom. Obviously, we treat them too well? Stay tuned for today’s fireweed photos!

      Like

    1. It was still incredibly light at 12:30 when I finally quit checking the sunset/skies and went to bed. Funny how I can sleep thru it in the morning. But who wants to rise @ 420?? Good to hear you are enjoying the photos. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Bernie, I read your Day 1 and Day 2 as soon as I received the posts. I suspect you now agree on how Miles Canyon is a must see. Along with many other sites. Every single photo makes me smile.😊 As you describe well, colours ‘intense,’ ‘spectacular’ scenery, ‘daylight is on a serious extender,’ Sun ‘fades out.’

    This saying is sometimes overused, yet appropriate, “I am living vicariously through you and your husband.”💕

    Greatly looking forward to your next entry with your gorgeous photos! Safe travels! XO Erica

    Like

    1. What a lovely comment, Erica, that you found the descriptions so apt. I am glad you had so many suggestions and also that you have enjoyed the trip. Once I finally catch up on comments, I will start my last post. Take care. Bernie

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So many beautiful photos, Bernie, especially the lupines. the Miles Canyon looks like a wonderful place to stretch your legs, find impressive basalt cliffs lining the fast-flowing Yukon River and soak in the natural beauty. Thanks for sharing, and have a wonderful day 🙂 Aiva xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a long “stretch” @ 12 km. We could have driven and seen other things as well, but it was an intimate way to see this area. Super impressed you know your rock types! I had to ask my other half what the cliffs were made of.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment