Family “Secret”

I suspect it seems odd that I’d be willing to talk about a family secret. No one remembers where it originated from but everyone enjoys it so obviously it’s not a sinister thing like you were all thinking. 

My Nanna used to make something called raspberry vinegar and luckily passed the recipe to our mothers and they passed it on to us. I’m happy to say, that for my part, my kids love it and I’m sure they will continue to make it.


It’s certainly not mainstream because googling it brings up raspberry vinaigrette which I made last year and is a totally different story. This is a drink that is slightly sour and slightly sweet which doesn’t even make sense.

Neither does what the magazine Country Woman did to it. Several years ago my sister, who had a subscription, submitted the recipe. They changed it up so much that it was not even recognizable as the same drink. I wrote them a follow-up and let them know how disappointed we were in what they had done to such a fabulous drink. I don’t think they ever corrected it. I do understand what they were trying to do as it is a very time intensive process. It’s not labour intensive just timely.




Basically you take a pail of raspberries, add vinegar and water. Let set x 24 hours, hang to extract juice x 12 hours. Add sugar, boil and pour into hot jars. 

Then when you need some liquid sunshine from the garden add three parts water to one part concentrate. Enjoy! 

Bernie 

PS – so if you are lucky enough to have some raspberries and need specifics about quantities leave me a comment (which gives me your email) and I will probably share our family secret. 😉


PPS — if you ever find a jelly bag in a store please let me know who carries them. Illusively hard to find but so much easier than cheesecloth 

8 thoughts on “Family “Secret”

  1. Brenda Bacon July 24, 2017 / 12:39 pm

    Bernie – how coy of you to give out “the basics” but then make us email you to get the “real” recipe! I would love the real recipe – don’t have enough berries in my garden to ever make it, but there is a terrific garden store nearby.

    Like

    • bernielynne July 24, 2017 / 2:23 pm

      Comments are good — makes my day! Let’s me know who is reading, why and where.
      As a total aside — have you got any Parks Canada places this year with your free pass? If so I’d love to have your pictures and stories for a guest blog spot!

      Like

  2. Georgina July 24, 2017 / 9:27 am

    Can you send it to me again?

    Like

  3. Janice July 24, 2017 / 8:57 am

    I promise to be very, very quiet – if you would share your secret with me, please!

    Like

    • bernielynne July 24, 2017 / 9:12 am

      Coming soon in your inbox. Thanks for being such a regular reader and for often leaving comments.

      Like

  4. Lynn Rideout July 24, 2017 / 12:24 am

    Well this looks fabulicious! I’d love to know your “secret” formula 😊Bernie

    Like

    • bernielynne July 24, 2017 / 8:25 am

      Well you shall have it then. Thanks for dropping in to read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

