Nine Minutes Flat

So here is yesterday’s post today. Seems yesterday become some rather random other stuff Zzzzzz. This is what I was actually working on when I hit publish.

My best time is 9 minutes flat, my longest about 30. Now that’s not Formula One pit change speed but not bad for a middle aged woman alone.

Now that best time has to be put into context plus perhaps the subject! The jack and tire were still out from the flat 5 days before. I might add that a guy sat in his vehicle waiting for someone and watched me the whole time. Whatevs as the kids say.

My worst time was probably this past winter when it was like -35 and I had the new truck. I couldn’t get the handle in to let the tire down and had to call my son in law for help, which I might add, he gave very graciously and didn’t make me feel like a wimp.

I’ve had a few awkward tire change situations. A Suburban full of meat and the spare tire accessible only if I moved most of it. Two dogs in the back of the station wagon and it happens on the freeway.

The longest tire change was the old farm truck on a gravel road in the middle of no where in the rain. Only one very unquiet vehicle went by. He didn’t stop the first time but the second time he did and asked if I needed help. I wasn’t all that polite when I told him I was finished now but if he’d bothered to stop the first time help would have been nice. Whatevs.

My dad taught me to change a tire and expected me to attend to it myself. Remember the context there as well though. Cell phones hadn’t been invented and I was a farm kid who drove back roads to get places. So it was walk for help or do it yourself. 95% of the time I’ve done it myself. Once i was even attired in a long dress!

In case you don’t know how I included a How to Video. You never know. Driving on the rim isn’t an option and sitting there all night in an area with no cell coverage could happen to you. It’s pretty easy even if they do the lug nuts up tight. You just put the tire wrench horizontal, hang onto the roof and stand on it till it gives. Easy peasey especially if you get lots of practise like me seems I am a flat tire magnet.

Bernie

Leave a Reply

