Gardening Genes 

At the time it seemed like no one was paying attention but apparently they were.
I was in communication in the past week with both of our offspring regarding how to plant something. I’ve already forgotten the details but I totally recall that it felt like a win in the long term parenting column.

I’ve been gardening my whole life. Every farm kid has garden chores to do. The two years in Vancouver we had containers. The move to Saskatoon got us back to a bigger garden space. The move to a farm garden was pure bliss. I’m a bit dismal with flowers but I’m keen and decent at veggies. My favourite summer hash tags are #eatwhatyougrow and #growwhatyoueat. There is something so rewarding about growing, harvesting and preserving your own food.

I’m so glad to see that both our children are becoming keen on doing this as well. Now excuse me while I go enjoy a raspberry smoothie with home grown raspberries!

Bernie 

Leave a Reply

