Free Lance 

There is a weight to a written word. A permanency that ink on paper allows. One which the spoken word can’t hold on too.
That’s why for as long as man has been walking around there has been drawn and written descriptions of life. A record of our time on earth.

So it’s with great delight that I record here that I will have a published article. Now I hit publish on word press regularly so my written word is in public space. What makes this feel like kind of a big deal is that it turns out I’m getting paid. Seriously!

No I’m not going to quit my day job and pursue this full-time but it does have a nice feel to it. I’ve been paid several times for speaking engagements but never for my written word. I have been scribbling musings for my adult life and it has come to this. I know, in the big world picture, it means not a hill of beans but none the less I feel proud.


The story, which will run in the Western Producer on April 27, is a short version of the Ripple Effect of War. This is highly ironic because during the second world war there was an article in there requesting families to open their homes to children from the British Empire that were being evacuated from the British Isles. The story has come full circle.

img_4691

I’m certainly not all clean, clear and concise. I don’t always follow the rules about how to write but the words come straight from my heart. Thanks for stopping in to read here in my own little space but also feel free to check it out on the news stand. Now where the heck does one find a Western Producer these days?

Bernie

12 thoughts on “Free Lance 

    • bernielynne May 5, 2017 / 9:07 am

      Thanks! Feels good. Gives me more food for thought for retiring.

      Like

  1. Anonymous April 24, 2017 / 4:13 pm

    awesome job!!!

    Like

    • Georgina April 24, 2017 / 4:14 pm

      BTW…am not ‘anonymous’

      Like

      • bernielynne April 24, 2017 / 9:27 pm

        Yes my inside view tells me who you are. Thanks for stopping in

        Like

  2. Deirdre April 22, 2017 / 11:47 pm

    Wow, Bernie!!! Congratulations!

    Like

  3. Janice April 22, 2017 / 5:23 pm

    That is exciting news! Heartfelt congratulations! As I thought the Western Producer had long gone the way of the manual typewriter- you will have to let me know where to find a copy! 📝

    Like

    • bernielynne April 23, 2017 / 9:00 am

      No it’s still going strong. While farmers often turn to on line auctions for equipment and the likes they still read the articles about production and policies in paper format. I can find a copy at my brothers or my son in laws or my best friends house. You could read it at the library or perhaps find a copy at McNally?

      Like

  4. Helen Johnson April 22, 2017 / 5:17 pm

    Hi Cuz
    One can find the Western Producer at the neighborhood library! Congratulations!
    Helen

    Like

    • bernielynne April 23, 2017 / 9:01 am

      I can find it at Taylor’s house or at Brad’s but thanks. I probably have a couple of city friends who will find it to read at the library.
      And thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

