Sunday Sunshine  

My plan was for a photo blog today of the incredible display of crocuses the pasture has to offer this year. I will be delaying that because Mother Nature just didn’t cooperate with my time line and the crocuses are still in hiding. But I’ve found sunshine inside my house to share on this bleak day. For the last two days, despite the cooler temperatures, they have been popping up all over. I think this is the most abundant they have been since 2007. This photo from yesterday just doesn’t do them justice. Literally, in certain spots, it’s hard to walk without stepping on them.


So instead I will post two rays of sunshine that grace our walls.

Several years ago, through my volunteer life, I met a young painter. She was just getting serious about her career and participated in a spring art sale we had at the Forestry Farm Park’s Superintendent’s Residence. I don’t remember the year but I do remember being struck by her use of light and colour. You could say they spoke to me.

I started following her on social media and am now the happy owner of two Nicki Ault pieces. One was a splurge as I just couldn’t let the painting go. You’ll see why it spoke to me, all blue skies and open fields.


The other was the use of our Christmas gift money. I use the hashtag suckerforsunsets regularly. I love them and often plan my walk or stop what I’m doing so I can enjoy them and photograph them. This painting feels like I’m sitting at the lake in the summer with a warm breeze at my back and my man beside me. I had spotted an earlier sunset that I loved but by the time I showed it to Ron it had already sold. I let her know how disappointed I was and her next set of minis included three sunset options.


They are just the perfect size for our back entrance (like we’ll ever use the front entrance!) and great us daily with these pops of colour. What a fabulous treat they are.

I adore getting flowers for the same reason, the colour and the textures are so lovely. Sadly they don’t last but here in their glory are the wonderful Easter bouquets I received from two special women in my life. 

So on this rather bleak Easter Sunday there is hope and lightness, just as there was long ago.

Bernie 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Sunshine  

  1. Alma D April 16, 2017 / 1:05 pm

    Thank you for the beautiful flower photos. I’m glad to have some flowers in my house also. It helps balance out the not-so spring like weather. Btw have you been following Anne’s blog? She mentions the incredible flowers in Holland but didn’t post any photos.

    Like

    • bernielynne April 16, 2017 / 1:29 pm

      I am following her blog and wishing she had remembered again how to post pictures!! I can’t wait to see the ones from Holland. It’s on my list of places to go for sure. Happy Easter to you and your family.

      Like

  2. Janice April 16, 2017 / 10:53 am

    Thank you for sharing your unique form of sunshine into our lives as well! Happy Easter to you all!

    Like

    • bernielynne April 16, 2017 / 1:30 pm

      Ah thanks. Happy Easter to you and yours as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

