Happy Hearts Series 

8 years ago, to be precise, I was gifted a present that makes me happy for two reasons. The first and foremost is that it was chosen for me by my life long closest friend who stars in the blog post called One Friend Can Change Your Whole Life. The second is who doesn’t adore material that screams love with hearts and bright colours.

If I love it so much why has it been unused for all this time? The truth is that I was looking for inspiration so that I’d use it in exactly the right projects that would always bring a smile to my soul.

Enter the zippy pouch. I’ve seen a few pics on Instagram of these little bags and while I’m a quilter I started first as a garment maker and a mender so this isn’t far off my skill set although I have never been a fan of zipper installation. Plus I’ve been on the lookout for a great gift idea for a special group of friends.

Next came some internet research. I lament that I didn’t search a little farther and find one with a PDF file so I could print it off. Using your iPhone for tutorials, with tiny pics, isn’t the easiest option. There was some “unsewing” when I first started as the pictures are kind of hard to see. I used Jedigirls zippered pouch tutorial and am pleased with the finished product. As with any pattern the more you do the better you get so I decided to do a series for myself as practise runs.


The 4 wasn’t randomly picked as I had received 4 Vimy Ridge zipper pulls so that was second starting point. The first was my multi coloured heart fabric that I adore.


Next up came the sizes. I did her standard size for the first one and I am using it for my hand sewing items. It has quilt batting as the stuffing. The second one I am going to use for my swim shower stuff so wanted it to be bigger. I used a heat and bond for the inside and don’t like it near as much. The third one is for my crayons (I have a minor addiction to colouring) so we really worked hard to get the size just right. It’s probably a titch too small or I should have done the wide  open zipper technique as I did with the second one. The fourth one, still in design sizing phase, will be for my odds and sods “stuff” (ie the shit I always lose and can’t find) for my work back pack.

Now I’m having a blast with these little guys, now that I’ve mostly got the technique figured out. I’m testing out decorative stitches and working on perfecting all those little details. 

This one I whipped up with left over quilt and unicorn fabric for a little girl in my life. Kind of because gramma loves her so much.

Bernie 

Leave a Reply

