To the moon and back 

Today I listened to story time. It brought back happy memories of countless hours spent reading books to our children. Also of their gramma reading to them when she came to visit. My children were enamoured of books from an early age and I’m pleased to say that hasn’t changed for either of them.

It might seem early at 4 weeks for a book but it’s not. They can’t focus on the pictures but they hear the voice full of love. They hear the cadence changes and the expressions and it catches their interest.

My cousin was a school librarian and said that in the last few years children arrived at kindergarten quite ignorant of books. They didn’t know how to open a book and which way the pages worked. They expected to touch something on the page and have it do something. That’s a sad state of affairs. I recognize that technology is here to stay but there is nothing more tactical and satisfying than reading a book to a small child. The statistics about children’s eye issues is quite alarming and it has to do with their muscles not being developed enough to see the two-dimensional aspect of the screen. I’m no expert and I’m not saying they can’t have screen time but obviously it needs to have limits. So give them a book!

Read. For the love of it!

Bernie 

5 thoughts on “To the moon and back 

    • bernielynne March 17, 2017 / 5:57 pm

      Came after my kids so we didn’t read it but it’s cute

      Like

  1. Deirdre March 14, 2017 / 9:37 pm

    Good old Nut-Brown Hare!

    I’ve heard similar tales from my elementary school teacher friends, and their concerns that touch-screen instant-gratification over-stimulation is negatively affecting young children’s development.

    I’m glad your grandbaby is getting the good old fashioned reading experience!

    Like

    • bernielynne March 14, 2017 / 10:01 pm

      Nut Brown Hare was not one we had when my kids were small. Published 1994 I believe it said. Funny you remember it.
      I’m so glad to read to her. I envision lots of snuggle time in the future!

      Like

      • Deirdre March 20, 2017 / 7:54 pm

        I don’t think I knew that one until I used it with kids in my EAL preschool class, but it always reminded me a little of the bunny in The Runaway Bunny, which definitely was a fixture of my own bedtime stories.

        Like

Leave a Reply

