Fresh Trails — the 365 Type

I’ve always been confused by the birthday saying that says “another trip around the sun starts today”. Really? Don’t we go around the sun daily? Hm. I’m also very confounded by the whole moon thing. But no time for confusion as today I start another trek around the sun. My 58th one or would that be my 59th one as I did the first year before I turned 1. Obviously I wasn’t paying attention in school during that chapter. 

Today’s my day. The day I fill up with the things I love. A long time ago I figured out that life really is short and that one should celebrate all sorts of occasions. Hence the fact that we host a lot of parties and get togethers. 

So today I will host lunch at my house. What’s better than good food shared with favourite friends and family. I love to cook and soup is such a great winter lunch. My absolute favourite thing is to a spend the day at home. I’m combining the two with the bonus that double batches of soup will net some for my work lunches as well. 

I also slotted in time for my two favourite solitary activities at home. Started the day off by working on my granddaughter’s baby quilt.I did some sewing and some unsewing formally known as ripping. Equilateral triangles with directional fabric! Yikes. Looks the same but it’s not. Eventually this confusion faded away as I worked away. I did manage some mass production sewing after I got the four patch straight in my head. By the end of the quilt I think I’ll be good to go but I am rather notorious for getting lost in the design.

 

Any good day at home includes a walk with my beloved four legged companions. Our 14 year old lab can only do the road walk in the winter as the snow is just too hard for her. Our 8 year old retriever still puts on 8 km for my 4 and I only see him streaking by occasionally. He loves the walks as much as I do, it fills up our senses and exercises our hearts at the same time. It was a good work out today as I left my snow shoes at home (slightly lose clasp which keeps coming undone) thinking that we don’t have that much snow. This walk turned into good exercise for my legs for sure.


Supper was a family affair, minus my beloved, hosted by our son and his significant other. It’s tough on a work night to pull together a big meal but they did a lovely job of it. There was a lively trip down memory lane, prompted by some baby photos. While we visited I took advantage of the crayons and colouring book sitting there. Topped it off with a tasty dessert that the kids assured me had no calories and no sugar!

The bonus events in the day were so plentiful it’s hard to even list them all. The sun came back out in time for sunset, phone calls from some of my dearest people, tons of texts, emails and messages. The double batch of flowers was total icing on the cake! 


The evening ended with a very   intention stretching session plus some bonus time on the foam roller. This is a self care item I skip far too often as my fitness friend tells me regularly. It always feels so good I wonder why I don’t make time for it but that’s a question for a different occasion. 

Alas tomorrow starts with the return of reality and an 0605 alarm time. So thanks for stopping in to read about my annual special day. I’m having some blogging issues but have decided not to stress it and hit post anyway as even without captions the photos act as visuals for the stories. 

Bernie 

5 thoughts on “Fresh Trails — the 365 Type

  1. MamboJam January 31, 2017 / 5:25 pm

    Happy Belated! I have some chocolate for you! lol

    Like

    • bernielynne January 31, 2017 / 6:46 pm

      Ah thanks but really I don’t need more chocolate!!

      Like

      • MamboJam February 1, 2017 / 7:38 pm

        Who says that? No one hahaha …

        Like

  2. Karla Suignard January 17, 2017 / 7:04 am

    Happy Belated Birthday!!!

    Like

    • bernielynne January 17, 2017 / 9:03 am

      Thanks Karla — appreciate you stopping in to read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

