Fresh trails – Take 2

In my new job title, of which my name is still to be determined (gran, gramma, nan, nana), I will have so much pleasure and joy.

The very first items on that list involve using my creative side. It’s been quite a few years since I have sewn for a little girl so it’s very exciting.

When I create baby gifts, often quilts, the design and colours are my choices. In the last year the moms to be have been giving me colour choices but prior to that I just choose. I have turned out some super cute quilts, blankets and burritos over the years.

Fast forward to how our daughter and son in law shared their special news. She handed me a stack of grey and white prints with one navy and told us it was time to create a quilt for their baby. She has subsequently added two coral colour prints. She’s also picked out the design.

Now usually I do a quick easy disappearing nine patch. Add a couple of special details or not. Usually a machine binding and a flannel back. But I guess maybe not this time?


Fresh trails – Take 2 involves equilateral triangles. Yikes. This is new territory for me and a titch harder than my usual quilting. Add to that the perfectionist tendency and it will be a good challenge. I’ve not given myself much time either as I have a few other items to create.

Step 1 usually invokes drawing it out and in this case Ron helped significantly. I then coloured it as neither my daughter or I are random sort of people. I’ve now done the math and am ready to start cutting. Well perhaps I will review the tutorial on cutting one more time just to make sure I get that important first step correct.

I love challenges so am excited to start on this special project. I will keep you posted.

Bernie 

3 thoughts on “Fresh trails – Take 2

Leave a Reply

