An “ordinary” day 

It started out like an ordinary day. It ended like an ordinary day but in between something strange happened that I wasn’t even aware of.

It is the “stuff” that parents and teachers try to impart on young minds. That of how fast and furious the internet can move information. In this case it was a RANT I wrote about my work life and the challenges health care providers, such as myself, face. I guess it struck a chord with many readers and they shared. Then it shared again and again and perhaps even again. There were lots of positive comments and only one negative one.

I wrote a follow-up called Rant Review. I reposted it all again the other day with the statement that nothing has changed in the big picture. In the little picture we still don’t have hot water outside the theatres and the floors are still falling apart. Upward goes a new children’s hospital right next door (in the worst possible location) while this one crumbles.


But I digress onto a soap box when really I wanted to talk about why I write which is why I blog.

I’ve always loved the written word and books have been a constant companion. As media continues to evolve so does the ability to read the written word. There are so many other options compared to paper books. I spent a fair amount of time surfing the net reading blogs and decided it was an avenue I wanted to explore personally. We had been hosting our house blog for quite some time by then and I felt that veering off tangent wasn’t an option.

I spent a year with a daily challenge of writing a haiku or two. Starting a blog and writing daily gave me somewhere to post them. I added in a couple of fictional stories to again expand my horizons. I’ve broken every rule there is about blogging and social media and then blogged about that here at BROKE THOSE RULES.

Through it all I’ve expanded my vocabulary, thought outside my box and continue to punctuate it all with photographs. This is the other side of creativity that has found an avenue.

As always I write for myself but I derive pleasure when it’s obvious that I have connected with the reader. I know this by statistics but best, of course, is when comments and likes occur. Perhaps that is self-centred and  narcassitic of me or perhaps it’s just trying to connect with others.

I’m not certain what the next year will bring to my blogging world. Who ever really knows what the next year will bring. That’s why engaging and enjoying every day is all we have. That’s my cue for an artsy photo and a closing line.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As Red Green said “keep your stick on the ice, we’re all in this together”. Happy New Year.

Bernie

 

4 thoughts on “An “ordinary” day 

  1. MamboJam December 31, 2016 / 4:41 pm

    Happy New Year! Thank you for sharing your blog. I enjoy reading everything! Thank you so much!

    Like

    • bernielynne December 31, 2016 / 5:04 pm

      Thanks for always stopping in and leaving a comment or two. Happy new year

      Like

  2. Jason B. Wall December 31, 2016 / 8:57 am

    Happy New Year to you as well Bernie.
    Thank you for sharing your posts and I could not agree more with you and Red Green.
    We are all in this together.
    Big hugs!

    Like

    • bernielynne December 31, 2016 / 9:23 am

      Jason,
      Thanks for stopping in to let me know you appreciate my writings. I miss Red Green!
      Hugs back. Happy New Year.
      Bernie

      Like

Leave a Reply

