Like fine wine 

The merits of a fine wine, craft beer or a gourmet meal are spoken of fondly. But how often do we verbally acknowledge the acts of those around us? Today’s advent calendar task was to recognize those around me.


I would have to say, quite truthfully, that on a daily basis I do  make an effort to do this. Because I subscribe to the following theory.


Now don’t get me wrong; if something is substandard I’m not going to except excuses or take flake for making my opinion known. The sharp side of my tongue does exist but as a rule I do try to be kind and thankful. I often think it has to do with the fact that I see, professionally, how difficult life can be in the blink of an eye. I think seeing people on some of their worst days makes me remember and appreciate daily that my life is pretty darn good.

To follow through on the actions though I did tell several of my professional colleagues that I appreciated their actions. Someone thought I wanted something but I didn’t.

Personally I told my husband how much I appreciate many things he does but I think I could have worded it better. Because really, I appreciate his qualities way more than I appreciate that supper was made.

Perhaps the person I forget to appreciate was myself. I am a hard worker who expects a lot from myself and I need to acknowledge that I give generously of my heart and my time to many things.

I hope this blog inspires you to look around today at what you appreciate. Perhaps even go the extra step to acknowledging it verbally.

Bernie 

Leave a Reply

