500 miles of kindness 

There are times in life when you are certain what the plan is. For today’s advent calendar task I knew that The Proclaimers 500 Miles  was the happy song for me to dance to. I didn’t know I was going to have to drag my body off the couch to do so though. I was struck with a flu bug yesterday that rendered me down and out for a while so it was tough slugging until the music came on. Then I instantly got in the groove. All this occurred while my man; whom I would easily walk 500 miles for, was walking the dogs as I wasn’t up to it. Rather ironic.

Then later in the evening I thought I would top off the dancing with a slow song; one of my personal favourites. It will come as no surprise that I chose a Jim Cuddy song as I love his voice and his style. Please enjoy the link to  Jim Cuddy’s Pull Me Through.

Which strangely enough leads me to this next link. I followed through on a tweet from the founding member of Team Broken Earth. He commented about how powerful and honest this story was. It was written by Christine Frangu.  In case you’ve forgotten I read her original story of her trip to Haiti after her husband, Spencer McLean, died. Her story has stuck with me for several reasons. This was a follow-up about life as a young widow and can be found at The Widowhood Effect via the Globe and Mail. It’s raw and real; her life post Spencer. I think she’d get exactly what Jim Cuddy wrote about in this song but as she wrote it doesn’t always have a happy ending and some days are tough.

Which brings me back to why kindness counts. It doesn’t matter whether it is Christmas Kindness or year round. Reach out and touch a friend; perhaps they have been going through a difficult period. Just a phone call or meeting for coffee can change someone’s day. Appreciate the people around you and let them know how much you care because there are no guarantees about tomorrow.

Bernie

PS I am hoping the links for the videos come through. You click on it and it should open the two songs in You Tube. Crossing my fingers that it works. 

2 thoughts on “500 miles of kindness 

  1. Deirdre December 21, 2016 / 1:33 am

    Thanks for this link to the globe and mail article.

    Like

    • bernielynne December 21, 2016 / 1:22 pm

      It was so poignant. Your partner really is your soul mate (or at least I’d like to believe that’s what everyone’s marriage is like as that’s what mine is like) and I just don’t want to imagine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

