Icing on the Cake 

Well it wasn’t quite a chocolate bar but perhaps a rum cake with chocolate drizzle is close enough? It was a colleague’s birthday today so I knew this was my plan of action.

He’s a big fan of rum so I knew this cake would hit the spot. It was a winner for sure (you could smell the run from 5 feet away!) but the important take away was that he was genuinely touched that I had baked a cake for him.


The advent calendar posted at work by a very caring and generous work friend had a different action for today. Strangely enough I stopped to read it at the same time as the birthday guy and so I gave him a compliment about how great it is to work with him as his work ethic is outstanding and his knowledge base is so wide.


Then I saw the above little note pad on my manager’s desk and knew another compliment was due. The maker of the card was the same friend who posted the other advent calendar. She’s so talented and as I said before generous.

Although literally there was no icing on the cake (just a glaze) it felt like an icing on the cake day when I had the above thank you left for me! I know she’s aware that I am a chocolate fiend but pretty sure she’s not in the advent calendar loop. She left this for me as I had organized something personal for her. So like really it was icing on the cake. 

Today has felt good. Giving is better than receiving although who doesn’t like to receive Bernard Callebaut chocolates.

Bernie 

4 thoughts on “Icing on the Cake 

  1. MamboJam December 3, 2016 / 2:47 am

    The OR is the best place I’ve worked at! You guys are amazing. So much respect and admiration for all of you.

    Like

  2. Alma D December 2, 2016 / 7:31 pm

    Thanks for your kind words. Thank you for work ethic, also. It is a pleasure and honor to work with you.

    Like

    • bernielynne December 2, 2016 / 9:21 pm

      True words I wrote. Thanks for returning the compliment. I try — I can be a “bit” bossy at times but it’s always about putting the patient first

      Like

Leave a Reply

