Slacking off or simple math 

I can’t decide if I am slacking off or if the simple math I’ve done while thinking about this blog post allows me some leeway.

Simple math equation. 

24 – 7 = 17 – 8 (+ 1.5 + 1.5)= 6 – 1 = 5 – 1 = 4

24 hours

7 sleeping

8 working + 1.5 am ready and commute + 1.5 pm return and commute

1 exercise

1 hour supper time

4 hours free time

Somehow I can’t seem to find that  4 hours of free per day. It seems to  get eaten up checking emails, emptying the dishwasher, baking cookies, cleaning the dog’s feet and laundry and ……. it never seems like I have 4 hours. 4 hours sounds like enough time to accomplish something major. Like family history research or sewing a quilt top or sorting photo albums or something substantial.


So I get stuff done, there is no doubt of that, but it’s always the stuff with a specific deadline. That’s how I fit it in; because it must be done. Then it’s push push push and move on to the next deadline. I occasionally get a head start but daily living or something more pressing pushes it aside.

This retrospective look at my free time-wasting or free time fulfilling hours has come to light because I have been slacking off in my volunteer life. Umm “the head” of a subcommittee that was formed in April. Ah yeah we haven’t even met yet let alone accomplished anything. See the problem is it’s not time sensitive so I never squeeze it in. The other volunteer is just as busy as I am and hasn’t pushed to get this done. She’s tied up till January and my two days off that month didn’t strike her as a convenient time for her. When we get together to  work on this project it will go through multiple revisions and editing; I strongly suspect it will take us 6 months of disconnected time to complete it. Never mind how long it takes us to start it.

The long and the short of it is that it’s up to me what I put in my 4 hours of free time per day.  I know what my responsibilities are and what my pleasures are. It always comes back to that question of balancing the various aspects of life. The ying and yang of projects alongside the ebb and flow of the seasons.

I could go on but it’s time to go fill my last 2 free hours for the day.

Bernie 

Leave a Reply

