Re Made with Love 

10 years ago, out for a birthday lunch with my cousin, I saw something that compelled me to act. It was a lovely memory quilt that spoke to me. I said to my cousin “that’s what I’m making mom for her 80th birthday”. Her response was “but you don’t know how to quilt” to which I replied “but I can learn”.


Now 10 years later the quilt, my mother and I have all aged. Now I’m still feeling pretty spry. My mom turned 90 and has some aches and pains for sure with her osteoarthritis. But she faired better than a daily used quilt. One that couldn’t be rotated because then the photos would be upside down. So everyday she sat on the quilt to put on and take off her shoes. She napped on it and she slept under it.

In other words the quilt wrapped her with the love that my sister and I put into it. Which is exactly why quilts should be used and not stored. The love doesn’t do any good in a drawer or folded up in a closet. You need to be blanketed in it.

Then if the quilt kind of runs amok and starts to wear out the quilt maker will repair it. It won’t be as good as new (just trust me on that) and there might be swear words in the ripping out and replacing but it’s still full of love.


There are many blessings in this quilt remake story. I had every piece of material I needed which seems like a miracle. A couple of them have an extra seam in them but my mom won’t be able to tell. Her eye sight isn’t what it once was so when it was time to hand stitch that 1 1/2″ seam that wouldn’t fit horizontally into the machine I said heck no. My mom won’t care and so I top stitched it. There are a couple of ripples that weren’t there the first time around but my mom and i have more wrinkles so that’s ok. In a week or so she will be sleeping under the quilt re made with more love & a few choice words! march-2013-022

Some challenges are worth it but it’s a good thing I have a healthy dose of persistence!

Bernie 

PS I wouldn’t let her wash it when it started to fall apart so once the quilting is done and the binding back on it will get some TLC in the washer. Or if that fails perhaps some tea to lightly colour the white. 

2 thoughts on “Re Made with Love 

  1. Heather November 16, 2016 / 7:31 pm

    Thanks little sister. It looks good. XO

    Like

    • bernielynne November 16, 2016 / 8:40 pm

      You are welcome big sister. It does look ok but not sure how well the dirty sections will come clean compared to the new material. May end up lightly tea staining it. Shall see.
      XOXO back at you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

