“QX104” Remembers

… and in the setting of the sun we will remember them… 

I am struggling with some home computer WordPress issues which means the blog posts are entirely iPhone dependent at this point in time.

The two posts I am working on have content in WordPress and my computer that I can’t seem to access. While this is frustrating it doesn’t mean I can’t post. It will not have the same “local” content as I have been writing about here but it is an interesting angle on my 11 Days — 11 Stories 

Acts of Remembrance 

I was surfing the net while putting in some time on my bike trainer. I am avoiding any media stories of that thing happening south of the border. My whole series of stories was initiated because I felt that we only spend 11 seconds on Remembrance Day. There were Christmas stories on my feed prior to Halloween being over and for me that felt wrong. I wanted to pay respect to the men and women who did and do serve our country.


So while surfing tonight I came across a radio station out of Winnipeg that is doing just that. They have a local historian speaking with them weekly and the stories are then put on-line. I’ve heard our local well-known historian Bill Waiser on CBC radio many times but unless you hear it live you’ve missed him and his war stories.

QX104 has a link to all the stories along with photos. It’s worthy of a few minutes of time to zoom over there to QX104 Remembers. I was impressed with the breadth of stories; First World War, Second World War, Korean conflict, police service and an assortment of locally inspired stories.

So tonight’s story may seem like a cheater post but the positive spin is that it allows a far wider story base than what I can write in 11 days and 11 stories. While I would like each story to be written by me sometimes logistics snafu us so we make the best of it.

Bernie 

Leave a Reply

