Proud & Free

I remember the 1967 Centennial Celebrations and the impact that had on my developing vision of myself and my world. Until then I was from a farm near a little town, occasionally we went to the city to see the Dentist or shop. But when that train came across Canada it, for me, opened up the map of Canada in my head and made me realize I was also part of a bigger picture. Anyone of my vintage will remember the multi coloured map that hung by the Queen`s picture at the front of the room. That train traversed Canada and it`s role was for school children across the country to see exhibits raising their consciousness as to Canadian history and nationalism. I would have to say that was government money well spent, at least in my case.

220px-Canada_1967_Centennial_Logo.svg

It took a few years but by my late teens I had seen bits and pieces of Western Canada and eventually lived in the three Western Provinces. It took a few more decades before I could say that I had really even been to Eastern Canada with most of those being short work trips. I am thankful that Ron and I have had the pleasure of two trips to Ottawa to explore the nation’s capital. My mother and I also toured around parts of Ontario tracing our family roots and exploring.

IMG_1025
Memorial Flame with the Central Block

I`ve now seen a bit more of the world as Ron and I, plus or minus our children or friends have toured numerous countries. High up on my bucket list is to spend more time exploring Canada. I must digress a minute and talk about my  list which has hung on our bulletin board for 15 years, long before there was talk about bucket lists. My writing hasn`t changed but the sun has faded parts of the list but that doesn`t matter as I know what is on it. The ironic thing is that the top item on the list was old house (acreage or city) and then time and money went out the window for travel!

My brother recently traveled to New Brunswick and PEI for a national meeting. He and a few friends went a few days early and took in many iconic sites. It was fun when he sent me daily pictures that showed where he was. He`s encouraging me to get down there for myself. My cousin recently spent the day on the Pier in Halifax researching family connections and that is definitely a must do.

   

   

My bucket list includes a major canoe trip (we have a couple sets of friends who are also interested) which might be the Nahanni in the Yukon. A trip to the Yukon is also included because I want to spend June 21st there some year and soak in the hours of sunshine. The West Coast Trek has been an item we have wanted to do since we hiked the Abel Tasman Trail in New Zealand decades ago. I sometimes wonder if we might be too old but a group of my collegues are there right now and most of them aren`t spring chickens so perhaps we can still make that a reality. Ottawa on Canada Day is also on the list and we are going to make that one a reality next year!! In fact when I finish the blog post I am going to do some research into B and B type options.

I do have a glowing heart when it comes to Canada and I`m proud of it. I believe that, even though we have issues, we also have a lot of columns that fall into the plus side in this wonderful country of ours. Our land is glorious for certain despite the fact that it is far and wide. That makes for a huge cultural diversity within our own country but we all unite under the same flag and the same song; yes even if they change the words.

O Canada!
Our home and native land!
True patriot love in all thy sons command.
With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
The True North strong and free!
From far and wide,
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
God keep our land glorious and free!
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

We are free because thousands of men and women have died protecting our shores. It`s important that we remember them and their sacrifice even as we enjoy those freedoms.

Happy Canada Day eh! 

Bernie

3 thoughts on “Proud & Free

  1. Georgina July 4, 2016 / 2:11 pm

    we have had the extreme pleasure of being able to visit much of Canada as a result of Ericas soccer. Wouldn’t change any of the places we have been!! There were many locations that surprised us as to how beautiful they were and we would not hesitate to return to. Any time you want to go and need companions just let us know!

    Like

  2. Barbara McFadden July 2, 2016 / 12:11 am

    Bernie, I completely agree with your comments about Canada’s centenary and it’s impact on my 9 year old brain; who can forget “Ca na da, weee love thee e”?

    Like

  3. Anonymous July 2, 2016 / 12:07 am

    Bernie, I so agree you with about the impact of the 1967 centenary on my 9 year old brain. Who can forget “Ca na da, we…love the e”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

