Working On It

I am quite proficient at procrastination which is why I was so elated to have completed my Haiti power point significantly early. Now I was extremely delated at the loss of my laptop for many reasons and one of them was that the presentation wasn’t on a stick yet. It was one of two work inservices I am presenting this spring.

No one wants to see 865 photos so it is important to sift through, develop either a story line or work off the time line and emphasis the visual with just the appropriate photos. Just to clarify I didn’t take 865 photos but we all used an App called PhotoCircle which is a sharing site. We also have access to the professional photographer’s pics and video which are down right amazing. There is plenty of choice and it can become a bit overwhelming but that’s a bit like the actual trip was.
 Interesting analogy is that whenever the “list” becomes too big or the “issues” heavy then it becomes overwhelming. Once you break it all down and iitemize priorities or create a pros and con list then it becomes manageable. But if you skip that middle step you head straight into procrastination. That spot where you do stuff but don’t feel “right” because the walls are too close. It’s always much better to make a plan and take some action.

So this week while sick I spent some “down time” creating the framework for both. It made me feel productive and perhaps saved some last minute angst. My hip fracture and instrumentation work one is just awaiting three photos from the company rep so that feels great. I already have someone to review it before presentation to ensure I’ve crossed all the t’s and dotted all the i’s.

My Haiti one now has the notes of what where on the 60 slides, the framework is created and I’m sourcing the 865 even as we speak. They were all on my laptop and I had deleted them off my phone as it is chronically full of photos. So then I tried to save them from the deleted file and that’s what crashed my phone. But there’s more than one way to skin a cat.

Now if I can just keep up the momentum and have it done before sunset on June 10th.

I’ve also made a smidegon of progress in the math heavy part of the wedding quilt I am making. The shopping is done but the fabric had remained intact while I sort out how this vision becomes a reality. It would be way less stressful if I chose patterns and followed them instead of seeing a photo and going “I’m going to make that”. That engineer always gets to sign his name on my quilts as he’s an integral part of my team!


Bernie 

2 thoughts on “Working On It

  1. mambojam May 26, 2016 / 3:17 pm

    You are talented! I can’t wait to see the presentation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

