Speechless

Quite frankly I am speechless, which doesn’t happen very darn often. I charted in French for heaven’s sake. I can’t even begin to speak the language on even a causal basis which makes filling out paper work a significant challenge.

  
It was an incredible long day for the Operating Room staff and I am sure the same for the ICU and ER staff. This was a full day for everyone and we all came back this evening with a mixture of feelings. The stories were full of pain, despair, frustration, gratification and hard work all mixed together on Haitian time. I had to tell myself over and over again that I was not here to change their system but just to help a few patients.

We have all been ruminating, over a late supper and a few beer (or rum),  on health care in a third world country which makes me reference back to my Rant blog in my mind. It is full of my frustrations over health care in our life back at home but sitting here thinking about how we felt today as we tried, immensely hard, to have a positive impact almost leaves me speechless — again which is the second time in one post.FullSizeRender

You’ve got to be tough to live it this country said one Haitian doctor today. You’ve got to be tough to come here and work for a week in a country like this. But I will be forever grateful that I did.

Bernie

 

 

The stories

One thought on “Speechless

  1. mambojam March 15, 2016 / 2:29 pm

    You’re a tough cookie Bernie!
    I’m sure they are grateful that you are a strong, skilled, compassionate and empathetic RN!
    Way to represent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

