Spots of Colour 

The dull grey days of November are here so I am having to work hard on finding the positives without my daily dose of sunshine. There are colours in the most unusual of places; I just need to train my eye to see beyond the dull and the grey.

Today on the dog walk I saw mosaic colours of lichen on big stones and red rose hips. The grasses, what the cows haven’t munched off, are the most rich yellow earthen colour that no picture can ever do justice.

Yesterday my walk across campus netted me two huge colour bursts. The first in a clump of mixed trees against the stone wall while the second was all bushes in a little hidden alcove. I stopped to enjoy the intense vibes.


The poppies on the left lapel of everyone catches the eye and it helps put the dullness of this time of year into perspective. The armistice was signed tomorrow and two minutes later the last young man of World War One was shot and killed. 40 years later the world wars raged again and even more death and destruction occurred. These men and women fought in horrible conditions. Now smaller wars are being waged in countries around the globe and there is so much suffering that it helps me realize that I can surely survive a few days without sunshine and not whine about it.

I read an interesting article about a study done in Norway and how their culture embraces winter rather than enduring it. Norwegians also have a word, koselig, that means a sense of coziness; think fireside, candles, friends and a warm drink. It’s worth a read if you are interested and can be found here at Norwegian Winter Secrets. My take away from the article was good clothing for the outside and candles for the inside. I have been struggling with the blue light as my morning routine just doesn’t seem to be conducive to it but I think I could do candles so will try that and see if it helps me develop a sense of Koselig and welcoming in the morning darkness.

  
 I feel that we do, as a winter country, spend a lot of time complaining about the snow and the cold. I have said it many times before but dogs are the best companions as they force you to go outside and once you are outside walking it is never as hard as it seems from inside. Once again I guess it all boils down to perspective. All of my grandparents spent their winters in Saskatchewan and that was without running water and a heating system like our boiler so I know I can handle it. In fact bring on the snow and the sunshine because I am looking forward to snow shoeing.

  
I was trying to figure out how to add this little funny saying — hopefully if you follow that link below you will see where I was going but I think it is going to show up as a separate post and not a link so I just took a photo is it and used that.  

Bernie

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spots of Colour 

  1. Anonymous November 11, 2015 / 9:30 am

    Thank you Bernie for your posts I agree as you are out walking if you look for Colour you will find it in the most interesting places and enjoy it even more during our winter months.

    Like

    • bernielynne November 11, 2015 / 10:26 am

      Thanks for dropping in to leave a comment — I bet you miss your dog walks.

      Like

  2. Janice November 11, 2015 / 9:29 am

    LIke,
    you know,
    you are amazing!

    The world is full of little daily treasures, sent especially for each of us, as long as we are willing to take the time to look for them! Your colourful walks are one of them for you, and you are one of them for me! Enjoy the beauty of today!

    Like

    • bernielynne November 11, 2015 / 10:27 am

      Ah thanks friend! It’s nice to know that I have a positive impact as that’s what I strive for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

