Contrasts 

There are many levels of contrasts; some apparent and some more obtuse, in this entry.  I will leave it up to the reader to determine what they will but at the end of the photos I will share my thoughts.   

  

     

     

  

The obvious contrast is that my usual photos are prairie based but we were in the mountains this weekend. The other obvious is that most of my photos are sunset, sunrise or sunny day photos. Let’s just say that the weather didn’t cooperate so these photos are of a dull dreary but not rainy day. The blatant obvious fact is  that we played all weekend and didn’t work.

Each series of 3 photos also represents the big picture, the path and the details. Would I have enjoyed the big picture more if I had taken less photos. The answer is no because it was a gnarly path, in the true sense of the word, and one had to stop walking to appreciate the view. The path pictures show the conditions under which we hiked. Those tiny minut orange mushrooms would not have been readily descernable if I had marched along at full speed. 

So draw from that what you will. I enjoyed all three aspects equally and now take pleasure in sharing these photos and my thoughts with you. 

As an aside there was a fabulous lodge restaurant that served good cold beer and intensely favoured food. Sometimes on the path we need to take to take time to nourish our bodies, souls and relationships. 

Bernie 

6 thoughts on “Contrasts 

  1. Janice September 7, 2017 / 9:50 pm

    Love the photos – your artistic side is getting stronger and stronger ………………almost time to start a painting class with us!

    Like

    • bernielynne September 7, 2017 / 9:59 pm

      Hahahah!! I’ve got the colours but couldn’t even trace my way out of a paper bag! No sense of context when I draw! It’s bad!!

      Like

  2. Brenda Bacon September 7, 2015 / 7:53 pm

    My favourite was the close-up of moss. I am so glad that you finally had a day of no work – from the sounds of it, you two work harder than anyone I’ve ever known!

    Like

    • bernielynne September 7, 2015 / 9:31 pm

      Brenda,
      I am amazed at the quality of those close ups as I just used my iPhone. We aren’t the harders workers ever, of that I am sure. For one thing we still both sleep in on weekends and don’t get going until 10:00 some days. We also take lots of time to connect with friends and find time for fitness as well. We do work hard when we are going full force — 2 more 3 day weekends and then I hope we are finished that project!
      I tried to follow your travel blog but couldn’t get it to recognize me. I must try again from the home computer. Take care.
      Bernie

      Like

    • bernielynne September 7, 2015 / 7:05 pm

      Not bad for a gloomy day in the forest. I absolutely loved the colour of that orange one! That photo is not enhanced at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

