Timing

I have wanted for several years to get the “perfect” picture of a canola crop beside a flax crop with both in bloom. I have seen it a few times but it has alluded me photographically. The cover photo tonight is an image from last year where the blooms are perfect but the driver wouldn’t stop because we were late for something so it’s a  drive by shooting. Alas, this year’s photo will show that I failed again to capture that elusive image as the canola was past the blooming state.


This all lead me to think about timing which was further reinforced on the drive to and from the flax/canola field just north of us. On the way there, armed with the good camera, I stopped to take a photo of a hawk on a hay bale but he alluded me as well. Then I came home and found a hawk on a bale here so I tried to capture that but without the weed pile in front of him. Again less than stellar results so I walked back to the house via the other side and his mate was sitting on the fence line. I actually managed a few photos there and then headed inside. I came out to go the garden and the young hawk was sitting on the roll bar of the tractor and he stayed there until I went back and got grabbed the camera. He was still there when I came back from putting it away and gave us a real fly by show as we headed up the garden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The timing works or it doesn’t and that is often how it works out in life. We often lament that we missed out on something but the reverse side of that would be that we caught something else instead. This applies to so many aspects; traffic on the freeway or a closed store when you had something to pick up.

I was at the grocery store tonight picking up four things and headed down a random aisle to leave. I stopped to switch my hold and there at the end of the aisle was the reusable grilling sheet for the bbq that I had learnt about a few weeks ago. I hadn’t been able to find it at Canadian Tire where my friend found hers but because I stopped for a second it caught my eye.

This is the week that the meteors fall through the sky. It is purely luck if in fact you capture them on film as its such a quick event. I have been out every evening around 11 and haven’t seen a single one. The mosquitos drive me in every night because they are so wickedly bad. Then this am at 4 am I got up to use the facilities and as I was walking by the open door I stopped at watched for a minute and saw two! It’s all about timing.

Is there a “bigger” picture that puts us in the right spot at the right time.? Is it all luck or chance? I, obviously, don’t have the answers and am not even sure that the questions are relevant. I do know that it’s important to live in the moment and remember to focus on the positives which is why I am going to close with a couple of pretty pictures of the flax and the wild oats. I am sure the farmer is less than thrilled with oats in his crop but artistically I thought they added a lovely dimension to the photos! I guess, like timing, it all comes down to perspective.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bernie

Leave a Reply

