Idle Time 

It almost seems laughable that today’s topic is idle time when I had none of that yesterday. A full day of construction which was preceded by picking and processing saskatoons. After that a social outing with friends and the day is full but satisfying.   

Contrast that to an hour and a half on Thursday when I was completely idle. Like completely. My cell phone was dead and I had forgotten my charger. I had also forgotten my vehicle keys so couldn’t do the usual after work tasks as Ron was in a meeting. I didn’t even have a pen so I could make a list. So I found a chunk of grass with a bit of shade and relaxed. 

 
Now relaxing your body is a lot easier than relaxing your mind. At a retreat  recently we did nothing yoga. I know that might seem a bit odd because yoga is about stretching. But between the first Namesti and the final Namesti we did absolutely nothing as the workshop was called “Breaking Busy”. First we relaxed our bodies and then we worked to relax our minds. That is actually way harder than it looks or sounds. 

Now Thursday was kind of hot day that we rarely get here on the prairies. And as I lay there in the sun trying to empty out my mind I had a cat nap. Which I guess is the ultimate relaxation. But really that was just a result of the heat, a poor night sleep and a physically draining day. Once I awoke I spent some time sifting out and quieting my mind. I was not far from the parking lot and pathway and door to the building so there was lots of outside stimulation. The rosebushes smelled good and freshly watered lawn felt cool. My eyes were almost fried from the intensity of the sun I kept them closed. 

It was, and always is, more difficult to relax your mind than your body. I can breath my body to relaxation while my mind still races. That is how Thursday’s time turned out as well; partially because I had to be somewhere at 5:45 and I had a)no keys and b)no time telling mechanism and c)no way to contact my man after 5:00 so it niggles in the back of my mind. I did achieve a •whatever will be will be kind of feeling place• if that even makes an sense to anyone but me. 

I will try again this summer, while at the lake on holidays, to quiet my mind. Till then I had better keep my body and mind in gear. 

Bernie 

The final irony is that it took me 3 days to make this post about being idle! 

Leave a Reply

