Endless 

Yesterday’s post is brought to you by the endless task of buying groceries. Now don’t get me wrong because I love good food but grocery shopping is endless. It feels like you go every few days and have so little to show for it. You get home and darn it all but the first item you need is something you forgot or couldn’t find.

We eat a lot of fresh vegetables which is really healthy for us. Garden season isn’t very long which means we rely a lot on the pantry (canned items from the garden), freezer (our fresh produce frozen) or the grocery store. We are addicted to having asparagus and the season here for that is so short. I do like to buy local when I can and our local Coop has a good selection in season. I don’t often hit the farmer’s market because of the geographical location from my house but will stop at a couple of smaller pop up type ones during the week. It would appear this year that I will definitely be buying vegetables from someone else.

I also farm gate a lot of our meat which means I know who raised it and where it was butchered. It’s hit and miss with chickens as I can’t seem to find the quality I am looking for. I do buy  locally grown Pine View when I want that farm fresh taste.

It’s interesting to note that there is an increased focus by Canadian producers to educate consumers about various aspects of farming, ranching and various general aspects of living off the land. There was a Twitter trend #plant2015 and I suspect there will be an equivalent harvest one. It’s all part of trying to reach the consumer and let them know how fortunate they are that local farmers care about the land.

Which is why we should buy as much local produce as possible. I read this the other day and think it is worth pondering — If you quit shopping at a big chain store they would never notice your absence but if you start shopping at your local market they will notice your presence.

Now excuse me while I go modify a recipe to create something without one of the key ingredients. Perhaps that is how fabulous new recipes are created!

Bernie  

Part of yesterday’s post was written yesterday after grocery shopping — then it was set aside so we could go outside and enjoy our fire pit. After half an inch of rain and with no wind at all we felt confident that a fire was all righ. So we burnt up 2 Christmas trees and 4 dead evergreens that we had pulled this spring. The lower yard looks quite a bit neater and bigger. I finished it this evening after I modified the appetizer we took to our daughter’s house for Father’s Day supper. 

8 thoughts on “Endless 

  1. Karla June 22, 2015 / 11:14 pm

    my cousin Rita Denis who lives in the Dormery/Bellveue area raises farm fresh chickens to purchase. She is a friend on my Facebook if you ever want to contact her. Take care!

    Like

    • bernielynne June 22, 2015 / 11:56 pm

      I believe I would! That’s the type of producer I have been looking for.

      Like

  2. Georgina June 22, 2015 / 9:49 pm

    we get chickens from the Hutterites. They are really good and only around 5 bucks a chicken

    Like

    • bernielynne June 22, 2015 / 10:12 pm

      I’ve had some really fatty greasy chickens over the years from there. I would be interested to try whatever colony you get your from. I would rather find someone local who raises them. I get a turkey from my buddy at home occasionally — it’s always amazing.

      Like

  3. morganmg78 June 22, 2015 / 7:40 am

    Why is that? I feel like I could stop and get “a few things” everyday and the bill would still be 100$.
    Do you grow asparagus? I have never tried as I think it takes a couple years for them to become edible. My mother in law grows them, but it seems to be a lot of work. Very delicious though.

    Like

    • bernielynne June 22, 2015 / 8:31 am

      My mom grew it and so I took some of her plant a few years ago. It was finally producing (as it takes about 3 years) and then we had to move it last year (we hadn’t planned ahead the gate and tractor entrance) and it didn’t come back. I guess I will go take more of my mom’s and start over. It’s so fabulous right from the garden!

      Like

  4. Judy Wood June 21, 2015 / 9:57 pm

    I feel your pain on the endless shopping. I don’t think I’ve ever come home from buying groceries without having to start a new list of needed items right after unpacking the current shop. Have you also noticed that just because there are only two of you now, there doesn’t seem to be any less grocery buying, although quantities might vary. I’m starting to get really tired of it, and I live a lot closer to the grocery stores than you do!

    Like

    • bernielynne June 21, 2015 / 10:21 pm

      Yes I did notice that we go as often and it doesn’t even seem like we spend less! I was spoilt for a few years as from 16 to 24 *when she moved out* that Alyssa did 80% of the grocery buying in our house. She hated unpacking them so it was a win win for both of us as I was only to happy to do that if she went to the store. I miss those days — Ron and I often go together as we car pool to work so we try to divide and conquer the store in half the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

