Signatures 

There are always those moments when you know what comes next. It’s bound to be a favourite or it wouldn’t have shown up at a special event. I’m talking about those signature dishes we each make to share with those we like and love.
There are a kazillion food blogs to find new recipes on as well as a plethora of cook books on all our shelves. The thing is though that we default to our tried and true most of the time.

IMG_8902
One of those well used “old” recipes.
IMG_0609
Brookies — an internet recipe that I am still working on perfecting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now having said that I will qualify it by saying that the Dessert Club tries new dishes and the rare time a standby shows up obviously the week has not gone as planned. Heck we even take our desserts if they flop. We have made so many different desserts that we have resorted to dated pictures to remember what we’ve made. We have even tossed around the idea of a personal cook book.

dessert club offerings

Each person has their own style of signature dish. Our son makes a mean stir fry. Our friend Greg serves up the best carnivore delights off of his grill. Our daughter is known for her cupcakes but pretty much nails everything she makes or bakes and is very creative about thinking outside the box. My cousin is known near and far for her amazing buns. My other half makes a stellar hamburger and overall is an excellent cook (lucky me). My best friend is an amazing baker as is her daughter but my favourite of hers is fresh cinnamon buns or maybe it’s chocolate chip cookie dough truffles.  My brother, Brad, is turning into a bit of a baker as well now that my mom has quit.

IMG_8910
A smokie over the fire but cooked just perfectly by Greg

My signature dish is brownies. The recipe came to me from a friend and I have modified it a bit as I love dark chocolate and don’t like it very sweet. It’s quick, easy and gets rave reviews. I have shared the recipe many times but apparently it can be hard to get baked just right but I’ve never had any issues. Now having said that I don’t have any “stock” pictures of brownies and tonight’s quick dessert was one of my secondary signature dishes. I make a great moist puffed wheat cake and chewy chocolate chip cookies.  It’s time to sign off so I can go have a treat!

Bernie

IMG_0324
Baked just right.
IMG_8911
Moist and chewy and half gone!!

 

6 thoughts on “Signatures 

  1. Gaylene May 24, 2017 / 10:00 pm

    Still use your Ceasar salad dressing mix to this day……

    Like

  2. Georgina May 24, 2015 / 4:24 pm

    I will bring you my cinnamon buns sometime!

    Like

  3. Janice May 24, 2015 / 2:13 pm

    How did I leave half the cake? Was wishing I had the rest right now! ;( We had a fabulous time, as per usual! Thank you for always being such fabulous hosts!

    Like

    • bernielynne May 24, 2015 / 2:23 pm

      Good thing there was cake left as I forgot I had a volunteer commitment this afternoon which goodies were required at!

      Like

Leave a Reply

