Make Time to Fish

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The most common statement I hear about my daily blogging is “I don’t know where you find the time”. Here is the news flash folks. I don’t “find” the time but rather I “make” the time. It is about recognizing what are your priorities and then balancing all of them on a daily basis. Now I would be the first to recognize that sometimes you get thrown curve balls and all plans fly out the window but once the proverbial $#@% has cleared from the fan it then becomes time to re-evaluate and start the tiny steps again.

Sometimes it is about little steps because life pulls you up short and knocks you on your keister. Those days it’s hard to know where and what to do so sometimes one becomes paralyzed with indecision and inertia.  And before you look at my life on the outside and think “what does she know her life seems so easy” trust me that I have seen and felt  death and destruction up close and personal. Life is truly like a pendulum and it can swing to change at any moment which is why it is so important to appreciate the flowers a loved one brings home (shocker I know – the man brought home flowers and it wasn’t even a special occasion!) or the ones you find on a walk. It’s vital to pick up the phone and call your mother or your friend because staying connected with others is part of what keeps us going. Remember to take care of your body because it is the only one you are going to get and although we can put Humpty Dumpty back together again in the medical world things are never the same as with the original parts. Focus on the Positives as Darci Lang says because it really does shift your perspective.

I am reading a book called “Breaking Busy” by Linda Edgecombe. It is about our busy culture and how we can (and need to) take control of our own personal lives. So tonight when I was feeling a headache and the lack of sunshine I looked for items that energized me.  So while some might just see it as busy I saw the baking cookies, creating a binding for a quilt and blogging as activities that fuelled my soul and created a calm for me. Of course I ate 3 peanut butter cookies (and some of it as raw dough — oh no) so that was counter productive and didn’t really serve my purpose. Linda had a question in her other book “Shift…Or Get Off the Pot” about what you would do if you found an extra hour in a day — it’s a gift and isn’t attached to your job or career. I heard her speak about this two years ago and it has helped me recognize my priorities and start making time for me. On my short list was take the dogs for a walk, write, read and sew. I now make sure that I do at least two of those things on most days. My year long haiku’s came from that as has the blog. I come and go with the sewing as I prefer to be outside in the spring, summer and fall but I go hard on the creative grid in the winter.

So challenge yourself for the next week to take charge of your choices and make connections for you that work. It’s not always easy and it can push your boundaries so start little and feel the positives that come from it. We all have different goals, values and issues so what works for one isn’t what will bring joy and peace to another so remember to recognize that  the person walking beside you might not be headed in the same direction. 

Bernie

So the title doesn’t seem connected to the post does it? Well that’s because I was trying to link it to a country and western song where a male singer talks about the lessons that his grampa taught him about how important family was and that he should take time to fish (insert whatever turns your own crank here). But I don’t know the singer’s name, couldn’t find the lyrics in any lyric finding program and eventually gave up. But I kept the title to prove that life doesn’t always work out how you anticipate. 

http://youtu.be/EVQ4_AASpVg

4 thoughts on “Make Time to Fish

  1. Georgina May 7, 2015 / 12:37 pm

    check Dean Brody, Luke Bryan, or Donnie Parenteau, might be one of theirs

    Like

    • bernielynne May 7, 2015 / 12:38 pm

      It’s Donnie Parenteau and I actually added a link to the video

      Like

  2. morganmg78 May 7, 2015 / 8:08 am

    Wow, so much of what you have written here has been running through my head for a few days. You express it much better than I could. I think you read my mind Bernie!
    The title really touched me actually, made me think of a friend I just lost and how much she loved to fish.

    Like

    • bernielynne May 7, 2015 / 5:28 pm

      That’s interesting because I debated changing it when I couldn’t find the song link I wanted but then I thought no — it’s the concept.
      Glad it resonated with you. I had more — somehow as I compose it in my head it flows better and once I start writing I lose bits and pieces of it. I was going to talk about how I’m not perfect — controlling and opinionated and a bit hasty with a nasty tongue but somehow lost how I was working that in. I think it was about facing adversities and how we all react differently.

      Like

Leave a Reply

