Down and Out

I am sure that every person who stops in to read today will relate to my topic and have suffered with this once or twice. I ended up with a whopper of a headache just before supper and it made me appreciative of the fact that I don’t suffer from them regularly. Most of my headaches are from environmental triggers so I know what I need to avoid and try my best to do so. I believe that mine today started with that trigger but then ended up worse than usual because I was volume depleted and had a crashing blood sugar. I had a super early lunch and no fluids in the afternoon as sometimes the life of an operating room nurse means you just can’t take breaks when you want or need.

I sympathize with those that have migraines or regular headaches. I just can’t imagine trying to cope with life if your head was always pounding away. I know that sometimes they can be drug induced and I would think it would be a hard sell to stay on a drug that did that to your body even as it made something else better. Migraine suffers can be debilitated for hours or days and end up in Emergency needing medication to help them out.

I looked up a few statistics and it is more prevalent than I had thought. If I knew about cluster headaches I had forgotten and I think I would like to skip having one of those. I have had only a few migraines in my life and don’t really want to have more of those..

Tension

The most common type of headache is the tension headache. It is estimated that 80 to 90 percent of the population suffer from tension headaches at least some time in their lives.

Other Statistics

69 percent of males experience tension headaches

88 percent of females experience tension headaches
Average age of first onset is between nine and 12 years old

Migraine

The second most common type of headache is the migraine headache. Around 16 to 17 percent of the population complains of migraines. These headaches are far more debilitating than the typical tension type headaches accounting for more lost time.

25 percent of women suffer a migraine at least once
8 percent of men
60 percent of migraines are unilateral, or present on one side
85 percent report some sort of trigger that kicks off their headaches

157 million work hours are missed each year due to migraine headaches. Average age at onset is between five and eight-years-old

Cluster

By far, the most painful headaches are cluster headaches. This type of headache appears in cycles that can last hours or days. They present with a sudden onset, and usually go as quickly as they start. Less than one percent of the population suffers these types of headaches.

First onset is usually between 20 and 30 years old
Average age of victim is 30
69 of 100,000 people suffer from cluster headaches

After a rest, supper, an entire pitcher of water and an Advil I donned my walking shoes. Fresh air and exercise were the perfect antidote for my headache and when I returned from my 4 km walk there was just a small residual frontal lobe pain.  I will leave you with a tranquil picture of a beautiful sunset that helped even out “my edges”.

IMG_8358

Bernie

3 thoughts on “Down and Out

  1. ladyfi April 7, 2015 / 10:54 pm

    That is a lovely shot. Surely a good balm for any headache?

    Like

    • bernielynne April 7, 2015 / 11:16 pm

      It was — the peace and quiet of the walk plus the exercise.

      Like

Leave a Reply

