Coming soon!! 

Our house is perched on the corner of native prairie grasslands. We chose that location on our plot of land for several reasons which I will expand on as it relates to a recent decision and an upcoming event in our life on the land.

We wanted a yard which required minimal time spent on a tractor mowing. We have chosen to keep the manicured lawn to a very small area around one side of the house. Flowers and shrubs have been selected that also reflect this philosophy as well as my lack of a green thumb. There is also the consideration that although we have unlimited water in our big pond it is not easily accessible and hauling water is time consuming enough to keep our trees alive. So the native prairie  frames 3 sides of our house.

053
Native prairie photo during lush summer months.

There is an ebb and flow to native grasses, flowers and shrubs that is directly in relationship to the amount of precipitation that falls from the sky and the daily temperatures. Since we bought the land in 2006 we have had some wet years and some really wet years so there is an abundance of some plants while others struggle. The  life cycle on native prairie also includes drought, fire and grazing by animals.

IMG_8275
The grass clumps and the weed stocks stand tall against the newly fallen snow.

Which brings me to what comes next as far as stewardship of our native grasslands. There is a surplus of thick tall grasses because we have no real fence and don’t graze amainals on it. The deer skirt around the area because of our dogs. There is an over abundance of weeds in all the wet marshy areas and some of them are invasive. The usual way to control this is with fire but because our house (which is a wood structure) is on the edge of this Ron is firmly and unwaveringly against that as an option. We mow out another row every year but we have far too many acres to do all of it and that isn’t an option in my mind as I want it to remain basic native prairie and not look landscaped.

IMG_8278
The foreground is the mowed area and all the rest is sow thistle.

Pesticides aren’t  really an option as they’ll also kill the grass and wildflowers. The sow thistle creeps farther and farther every year. It invades my walking trails and really as a weed it’s pretty ugly. Some weeds at least has a virtue of being pretty to look at but not this one.

IMG_8289
My Sask Wildflower book says sow thistle competes enthusiastically for nutrients and will choke out other plants.

Time to think outside the box to solve this issue. We need something that will rid the land of the invasive weeds but is itself low maintanence. I talked with a neighbour about summering some sheep here. Electric fence works for them but the issue is night time and the coyotes. Cattle require a significant amount of fencing, access to water daily and are picky eaters being the biggest negatives if you forget about the size of their cow patties.

I stumbled upon the solution last summer while in my home town at the local fair. A friend of mine had Boer goats there in the petting zoo. It turns out, after an indepth conversation, that these little guys are the ideal tool! They love weeds more than grasses, they are low maintenance and will wander around on a tether eating. They like somewhere warm and dry at night so we have a dog kennel that will work or perhaps the tractor shed (just don’t tell Ron).  Keeping them up near the house at night negates the coyote issue.  Best of all, after a full summer of munching for us, they can go back home although David is convinced I will want a huge herd of them the next year!

IMG_8280
Quietly chomping away. Fingers crossed this is the solution.

Ron hasn’t actually said I’m crazy but he may be thinking it! He has said though that they are my responsibility which will entail that I get my butt out of bed in the am to get the goats out to pasture! Just like growing up there will be chores to do before and after work.

Two dogs, two cats and two goats. Has a nice ring to it. Wish me luck. 

Bernie 

13 thoughts on “Coming soon!! 

  1. Jacquie Anderson March 25, 2015 / 9:10 pm

    Way to go Bernie! Never a dull moment at your house.

    Like

  2. Alma Dirpaul March 25, 2015 / 6:11 pm

    That sounds like a great idea, Bernie. Definitely worth a shot. I never had to do chores in the morning, but I did enjoy feeding the animals, collecting eggs, etc. after school. Although I probably never said that to my mother at the time. Good luck.

    Like

    • bernielynne March 25, 2015 / 10:46 pm

      I did chores during seeding and harvest — milked about 50 cows before school and after supper. I credit part of my work ethic to this. The goats will be pretty easy compared to that!

      Like

  3. Patti March 25, 2015 / 8:21 am

    Ha! That’s awesome Bernie! We’ll be watching to see how this all works out for you. We may be next in the goat lineup!

    Like

    • bernielynne March 25, 2015 / 10:05 am

      You can see first hand if I ever need a goat sitter!!

      Like

  4. Jessica Hamilton March 25, 2015 / 7:19 am

    I am so excited for you!!!! It has always been my dream to have goats.

    Like

    • bernielynne March 25, 2015 / 10:04 am

      Good — you can come be my Goat sitter for the weekend if we go away

      Like

  5. Anonymous March 25, 2015 / 12:35 am

    Are you sure that is a picture of Boer goats?

    Like

    • bernielynne March 25, 2015 / 6:39 am

      No actually I’m not but I retrieved it from the goat owner’s site. It could be he has more than one type of goat. These do look bigger than what I remember the goats as being but there is only the grass to put them in size context. I’ll do some checking. Thanks.

      Like

  6. amjluross March 24, 2015 / 11:37 pm

    Wonderful post, made me chuckle as I start my last day in Paris!
    I wish you well, sounds like a solution.

    Like

    • bernielynne March 25, 2015 / 6:48 am

      Let’s hope the two dogs, two cats and two goats all get along.
      Have a great time in Paris!!
      Bernie

      Like

Leave a Reply

