Reality? 

Out of our normal environment often moves us out of our usual comfort zone. Now I’m pretty comfy at my Mom’s house but what is a bit odd for me is the channels that the remote control lands on.

We recently did the Nimbus TV log at our house for a week and I truly didn’t spent a lot of time in front of the “idiot box” as my father called it. I am much more likely to spend time doing daily stuff or projects in the evening and my spare time is spent on line.

This is a new shift that seems to be quite obvious via our adult children as neither house hold has cable. They say the average person is spending a lot of screen time now (like over 8 hours a day) but it’s not all TV screens.

Back to where the remote lands here at this house. It sits pretty firmly directed towards reality TV shows that are of the subgenre of hillbilly. Well ok, I made up the name of the category as several  articles called it adventure based but really that’s a fancy word for red neck politically incorrect dudes running around being ……………! I have never seen Duck Dynasty but it is the most popular reality show in US cable history. Ranks above Swamp People and about 10 different ones based in Alaska alone. Then there are the Louisiana and Texas side of that genre.

This doesn’t even take into account the competition based reality shows that really don’t have much basis in reality. Let’s be friends while we claw our way to a million dollars. I get drawn into The Amazing Race as it gives you a brief glimpse of a location or culture that we might not ever see but the personality bull shit that goes on drives me bonkers. There are a huge number of this genre. Then there are all these other categories like romance and home improvements which had a plethora of sub types. We often get suckered into watching a few of these. My favorite to make fun of is the graphics on Massive Moves although we like the premise of it as we did a massive move before they invented the show.

So while I’m here on my trip “south” and taking good care of my frail momma I will expand my horizons until 2200 hours (10 PM for those non medical readers) when my brother goes to bed. Then I will probably watch a rerun of a scripted comedy show like  “This hour has 22 mins” or Rick Mercer Report as I firmly believe that laughter is good medicine. Now having said that my brother laughs regularly over the antics of those reality show based characters so I guess it is all in the eye of the beholder.

Moral of the story is GO OUTSIDE and get some fresh air and exercise. Then exercise restraint in what we use our screens for. Reconnect with people. Read and chat.

Bernie

Leave a Reply

