Declutter

Last evening I read this post and thought about it for a while. I also hope that the link shared ok as that has been a bit of a struggle. I’m pretty sure though that Pinterest is not going to help with de clutter as it seems like a vehicle to get more “pretty” stuff all arranged perfectly in the latest fashion. Which in itself is more clutter and consumerism.

http://www.whitehouseblackshutters.com/40-bags-in-40-days-2015/

I have given up consuming significant amount of chocolate and beer. It has little to do with lent and more to do with caloric input. Notice I didn’t say I am abstaining as life is short and the odd beer isn’t the worst thing I could do.

So should I give up 40 bags of 40 unnecessary items? I do know that I was awfully pleased to declutter our basement utility room. Unfortunately I did not manage to convince my other half to get rid of his engineering notes from 1976 to 1980. I regularly sort and organize the utility drawer in the kitchen and the pantry shelves are purged frequently. There are other areas that certainly could use some de cluttering but to do it for 40 days in a row doesn’t appeal to me.

I think it plays a role and I do appreciate the tips for the non “stuff” as my inbox and computer files really need some organizing. But I am more in favour of a balanced approach to this. Which might seem odd from someone who dove into blogging with a 365 day challenge (and just missed an evening!). I think I will just keep up my regular blitzes here and there which I have always done. Perhaps though I will deliver the last of our children’s belonging to their new houses and throw the odd thing out when my pack ratty half is not looking.

Bernie

4 thoughts on “Declutter

  1. Georgina February 19, 2015 / 7:22 pm

    I have often thought about trying the 40 bags, but I think it would be too overwhelming. Although the 40 bags do not have to be huge bags it is still difficult to think about doing this everyday. I like your idea about just keeping on doing what you are doing

    Like

    • bernielynne February 19, 2015 / 8:17 pm

      That only works if one is committed to doing it regularly. I think, if I had time, a big purge would be super satisfying. I did the basement utility space after Christmas and was so glad to have it finally cleaned up and pared down. I think my next week off in the spring I will do the shelves and the garage attic. Meanwhile I have now done our little bathroom vanity. Just have to start to make a difference.

      Like

  2. morganmg78 February 19, 2015 / 9:03 am

    I may try that 40 day de clutter. It really needs to be done. And my husband ( who usually throws out everything) still has a box of engineering notes and texts from the 90’s!

    Like

    • bernielynne February 19, 2015 / 11:49 am

      That’s funny that your engineer also has notes! Two decades later but has also kept them. Ah yes perhaps sometime I should do a post about being married to an engineer!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

