Daily dose of ….

If I can’t have my daily dose of
sunshine then I am always happy to see the moon reappear. This winter, since November, has been one of the dullest that I can remember. Occasional sunny days with clouds appearing around 4:00. This is when I come out of the ground floor windowless dungeon.

So the moon provides the only bright spot on the horizon so to speak some days. It’s like a familiar old friend who goes away for a while and then returns. I have tried quite unsuccessfully, I’m sad to say, to take pictures of it for years.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m never quite sure where to look for the moon and at what times. I chuckled at a photographers post that said he captured the house and stars under a 31% waxing crescent moon! One of my favourite moon sayings is one that our daughter coined when she was about 3. It was a new moon and her statement was

look Mommy the moon is half grown!

I love how it can illuminate the ground so that it’s like walking at dusk. The shadow of the house can be so long and yet so distinct.

I love the moon light
beckons me through the window
Come to walk in me

Deprived of the sun
I seek out the bright moon beams
Globe of reflection

About 2 years ago my friend started posting haiku’s that she created while walking her dog. She wanted to keep her mind sharp as well as exercise her feet. So here below is her post:

Low in the east sky
Large melon rind moon rises
Gone in a few days

Then I stacked these two double haikus on top of hers for bonus points so to speak. Hm — you could play a scrabble version of haikus I bet!

I do miss the moon
When it disappears from sight
Glad when it returns

Because it’s, of course
Sun shine reflected at night
So says engineer

Now if I can just find the one or two decent photos I have of the super moon that Ron took last year to go with this post it will all be good. Of course that was written before the whole thing crashed on my phone so I’m pretty happy to find this content here on the computer!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bernie

 

Leave a Reply

