Blast from the Past

I spent yesterday afternoon doing volunteer work. Now before you turn away with an “oh boring” thought it also involved many trips down memory lane. I am the current “you’re it” for the class of 1980 from the Foothills School of Nursing so for the last four years I have organized the newsletter and submitted that info for the website and have been preplanning our reunion. So now it is 35 years out and time to have a big party like only old nurses can – heck maybe we will even stay up till midnight!

When you live in residence with the same crew for three years, take the same classes, give each other injections and drink together every weekend you become close. Sometimes we are scary close. Imagine that 35 years later we can still finish each others sentences. As a rule you were tight knit with the group on your floor but sometimes study habits or your actual rotation also influenced who you did what with.

BC waterfight

We were a bit of a rowdy crew on the fourth floor as we were all the out of town/out of province girls. So loads of farm girls and small town girls and one girl from Ottawa. We didn’t have the option of going home weekends like the Calgary girls.  We were all spreading our wings and learning our way in the world — all for the least amount of money that we could spend as most of us were quite broke. I remember that training for the year cost $680 and I had to make that money in the summer which wasn’t all that easy. We lived on cheap food and cheap booze (now that is a different blog and I won’t go there today or maybe ever as my mom might read this blog occasionally!).

partygirls4 toqueheads

Picture quality from the 80’s quite sucks. So don’t adjust your screens as it doesn’t get any better than that. But I still felt it was worth the trip down memory lane to add a few of these. It’s sad, to me anyway, that several of our class mates are lost and I don’t mean in Cambodia. I mean as in I can’t find them. Email addresses change and you lose touch so I spent yesterday afternoon searching the internet for a few of them. It will be interesting to see if any of them respond as maybe they want to be lost. I do know that not everyone has the same kind of crazy cherished memories of life in res as the “twisted soul sisters” and I do. It was the “best of times and the worst of times” but it totally shaped who I am today.

relaxingfinallySo here you can see that we grew up, passed our exams (which is yet another story) and turned out to be good nurses. It’s interesting to note that not everyone on our floor was a party girl and at our 25th reunion I had an interesting conversation with the girl who lived kitty corner to me in res. She said at the end of it “well you actually grew up and turned into a nice person”. I guess she was worried that my crazy habits in res were the ones I intended to display for rest of my life! I was always the last to get up in the morning and that habit certainly stuck although I don’t go to work in my pj’s like I went to class in them!

3 thoughts on “Blast from the Past

  1. Terri Woytkiw January 10, 2015 / 9:04 pm

    OMG!! i so recognize the decor, the hallways, that common room. What an experience that was, fresh from the farm, green as grass. and yes by and large, we all turned out ok!

    Like

    • bernielynne January 10, 2015 / 10:25 pm

      Yea fresh from the farm. Just life in the city was a big enouhh adjistment let alone living in res with 90 others in your class! It was a great program though and i’m appreciative on so many levels that i went there!

      Like

      • Terri Woytkiw January 14, 2015 / 10:57 pm

        i remember being so proud of myself that i took city transit somewhere! it was indeed good grounding

        Like

Leave a Reply

