Rant Review

I didn’t set my rant to paper expecting so many comments, shares and likes. I put it in writing because that helps me release my frustrations. I’m actually somewhat overwhelmed at the number of people who have read it. Not because I regret writing it but just because I didn’t know that many readers would connect with my rant.

The operating room staff are quite isolated from the rest of the hospital in many ways. We occasionally run to Emergency to pick up a really sick patient or drop one off in ICU but we don’t stop to chat. There is another patient waiting in the wings and so, no matter the outcome, you put on your patient face and go greet the next patient. So our confinement means that we don’t really have any idea of how other health care providers feel about the status of our faltering system. My conclusion from the shares and the comments is that there is a consensus with both providers and tax payers that we are tired of band aids and bad budgets.

The whole lean thing is bigger than one OR nurse and the amount of change I can create but I can fight to hold into what is necessary for us to have in our emergency situations. And believe me that I have. During my lean week I also publicly stood up in front of all the big wigs and said they had their “metrix” issue all wrong and that they failed to ask the daily users what could be done to fix the real issue. So if you break a bone and wait a long time please contact the seniors at the health district and tell them that more operating room time needs to be allocated to ortho traumas.

Now lean, as I said before, does have some good qualities. It’s the amount of resources that go into it that front line providers object to. On any given week there are provably 4 to 6 lean projects on the go and probably some of them have a good outcome and are able to sustain the implemented changes. But my experience left me jaded and annoyed. On the final Friday of our week we were 3 nurses short and I sat in a room beside the OR while we practised our presentation for the afternoon. Really?? I nailed my 2 mins to speak first time but had to submit to repeated performances of it so we could report as a team. Meanwhile my real team worked diligently short handed to provide quality care without enough resources. When asked by the top brass at the end of the afternoon how my lean week was I let her know in no uncertain terms what a farce it was. I doubt I will be asked back as I’m not the kind of team player they want as I’m too likely to call bull shit out loud. I’m not against change and change day concept is a great one but I’d start with real issues and ask front line workers what they saw as the issues. As of yet not a single RPIW in the Operating Room environment have asked us what the metrix should be.

I’ll try to link up to the government of Sask announcement today about the lean program. So in the end I caved and did it the copy and paste way — I was trying to figure out how to link up via the blog site but no success. I believe this should take you through to the story.

http://www.thestarphoenix.com/news/Lean+health+contract+cancelled+Sask+government/10687910/story.html

In follow up to my closing statement in the original blog rant I never meant “let go” as in quit trying to make a difference. I didn’t want to be a whistle blower or a negative nelly. There was a LOT more that I could have said about many many aspects of the issue but I kept it close to my daily issues because I can speak with confidence and knowledge about it. I just meant to let it go so I could go enjoy a beer and dessert with friends rather than internalizing it all. I give 110% every day — no matter the circumstances in my own life — and that won’t change until I retire in a couple of years.

But who will pick up the torch? Millions are spent in health care but when you work short and work hard every day — day in and day out — it starts to drain your batteries. I’m hopeful that the next generation of nurses that I’m helping to train now will go that extra mile. Scrounge out pillows, porter patients, pick supplies and do it all with a smile and professionalism. Remembering that it’s for the patient because that is why we chose to be a nurse (or doctor or x-ray tech etc)

Bernie

 

6 thoughts on “Rant Review

  1. yvonne Slugoski December 29, 2014 / 10:16 pm

    well said, Bernie! Can I be on your team?

    Like

    • bernielynne December 29, 2014 / 10:42 pm

      Any health care worker like you and I can stand up and let the public know how these changes impact us and more importantly the patients.

      Like

  2. Georgina December 29, 2014 / 8:49 pm

    yup, I want you on my team too!

    Like

  3. Janice December 29, 2014 / 7:50 pm

    There is no other person I would rather have on my ‘team’, than you! Thank you – for who you are!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

