Fully Connected

During the day you don’t fully appreciate how quickly the sun rises but if you sit and watch a sunrise or sunset you can see it move. And I often do that in the morning on a winter weekend. In the summer the sun comes up so crazy early. The sunsets in the summer are the best with the colours changing and lingering. There aren’t many times when I sit still and do nothing but if you looked at the pictures I take you’d realize I spend a lot of time capturing those moments. I feel like the colours never show true enough but I have a lot of “anatomy of a sunrise/sunset” photo series.

IMG_4333

I’ve always loved the sun but in the last few years of living a rural life I have been able to appreciate and arrest those moments much better on camera. I’d love to do a photography class when I retire so that my work would continue to improve. I, of course, can well remember using film and how devastating it was to get back a roll that had been over exposed. Digital makes it so much easier but I am totally uninitiated in how much you can edit and mix up the colours and intensity.

 

 

 

IMG_0358

What the daily appreciation and photo ops are really though are a moment of recognizing a force in the world that’s way bigger than ourselves. It’s about, for me, focusing on the positive of the day that is just setting and appreciating all that I have in my life. Before you think “oh yeah rich person big house” think about health and family and fitness and connections because for me that is way more important than the fact that I have an awesome house in a fabulous location. All that could change but I would still treasure the laughter at the brunch table this morning or the hoar frost in the sunlight. It is so important to remember that life isn’t about collecting things but about experiencing things. Like sunrise, sunset, sun dogs and crazy furry dogs. Hugs, even if they are one armed, and memories of the good, bad and fabulous. And so it really is only partly about the solar connection and more about the full connections.

IMG_3803

IMG_0132

It was a hard choice from the loads of pictures that I have so I chose two sunrises and two sunsets. Incidentally turns out that there are two winter and two summer photos. And then I chose a photo of a saying that encapsulates living your life fully connected to yourself and your surroundings.

IMG_3663

Bernie


Leave a Reply

