Dodger shenanigans

It’s the spontaneous times that can turn out to be good memories. I was quite ready to stay home at 9 p.m. tonight when Ron was leaving for soccer. But somehow I found my second wind and went to a 9:45 game when I wanted to stay home. As most of their games are after 10:00 it seemed like a good game to attend. I hold the title of their number one fan based on my attendance and the ability to tolerate their shenanigans.

The Dodgers care about what happens on the pitch but they also like the social time after. They support passes of the ball and the beer pitcher with equal enthusiasm. Most of them have been playing together for ten to fifteen years and don’t show any signs of slowing down. They also golf together in the summer and often do a golf weekend up to someone’s cabin. For the last four years they have also gone to Vegas for a tournament and a fun time. I heartily support all of this (despite the fact that he misses my birthday for the Vegas trip) as sports and the male personality are good for each other.

Last evening Ron couldn’t buy a goal and hit the corner post 3 times; collectively as a team they hit it 15 times. So we bought the beer. The highlight wasn’t that but the fact that Terry went and found a piece of puffed wheat cake from the kitchen staff and we used BBQ lighters as candles. There was a spontaneous happy birthday chorus.

And I was going to miss it because I was tired? Life truly is short and it’s important to enjoy the moment. In honour of Ron’s birthday I will close with the saying that sits under his professional work signature —
Life is a coin, you can spend it any way you wish, but you can only spend it once.

Bernie

IMG_7200-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

