Best Barter Ever

Several months ago I was hand stitching on some placemats (a shower gift for my daughter) on a break at work. One of my co-worker friends complemented me on how beautiful they were and how you can’t buy quality like that. She wondered if I would make her a set of 8 in exchange for taking them down to her place in Palm Springs. With not a single moments hesitation I even threw in a set of 8 serged napkins in a co-ordinating colour! Turns out she didn’t want to shop with me for fabric but did give me some photos to base colour decisions on. Total control and a week in the sun seemed like a win win to me.

I brought along my man who has an eye for colours and with the help of the fabulous staff at 440 Quilt Shop purchased what I needed. I don’t usually sew in the summer so early fall found me finding a bit of time here and there to work on them. But it was a really nice fall and we are in the middle of a big project so not enough time. I had serger issues so the aforementioned man had to come up and sort those out so the napkins could be completed. The long term issue of an older sewing machine meant that I couldn’t free motion these and that is what they really required to bring out the fabric designs. So then my awesome friend Annie had me over for lunch and an afternoon of sewing. That still left the trim to go on which required the tutorial from My Sweet Prairie to get me over my “how the heck do you join these ends again dilemma”. Then the hand stitching on 8 placemats which I did on the way to Palm Springs and while there.

Sewing in my lovely attic with a beer. Does it get better than this?
Sewing in my lovely attic with a beer. Does it get better than this?

 

 

Ah yes binding - that was worthy of a blog post about  doing stuff the hard way.
Ah yes binding – that was worthy of a blog post about doing stuff the hard way.
Stitching in the sunlight and warmth - my early morning project time.
Stitching in the sunlight and warmth – my early morning project time.

 

 

 

 

The placemat colours and design are an awesome complement to the colour palette that they have decorated with. Their well appointed unit faces into a quiet little pool area that is full of sunshine, green grass and colourful bougainvillea flowers and palm trees. We had breakfast outside every morning with the placemats and used them for our suppers inside using them on their dark wood table.

Now more lucky us — we are talking about trip two for a couple of little projects that they require done. The measurements and the ideas are already being put into the concept design area (my brain).

The final project in place.
The final project in place. 

I think it could be the start of something. A bit of a revolutionary idea.  The advertisement could read —

“Middle aged DIY couple seek a vacation home that needs some TLC projects done. In exchange for 10 days rent free they will tackle small projects that home owners don’t want to do in their paradise locations. Project portfolio available to view this couple’s amazing skill sets. Proposed vacation projects will be approved by all parties prior to commencement.”

Now where to post this ad?? That’s one part of the equation and the corresponding part is how darn often could we get away.

Bernie

 

Leave a Reply

